GUNDAM ROSE

GUNDAM

Most of the toy lines I collect are based on elaborate mythologies that have been expanded on through comics, television and movies.  There a few odd ones that have no back story at all and are simply cool looking figures and their histories play out purely in my imagination.  Gundam I think is unique in that it has an elaborate back story that spans decades through animated movies,  t.v. shows and comics but I know basically none of it.  And I don’t really care to.  I bought a Gundam movie once as I figured I should know a little something about this ever expanding group of robots on my shelf.  Hated it.  A lot of wishy washy human drama and not nearly enough robot action.  I traded that movie into my local Blockbuster (R.I.P.) and decided never to watch another Gundam movie again.  Though I was not able to get into the show, the figures still called to me like a siren to a weary sailor.

What I do know about the series is that these awesome looking little guys are actually not robots but giant mech suits piloted by humans.  Apparently many of the figures I have span a number of different Gundam series that often have no affiliation with one another.  This particular one, Gundam Rose is from a series called Mobile Fighter G Gundam.  Which as far as I can tell was about several nations owning their own, often offensive stereotype robot to represent their country is some sort of mecha fight club.  Gundam Rose represented France.  You can tell he’s french because of his dainty saber, his fancy shoulder cape and his Napoleon hat shaped head.  You’d think these elements would make for a pretty lame robot but I think he’s flat out awesome.  He looks regal and authoritative standing next to my other Gundams.  The colors work great with the base white accented by red, yellow and blue highlights .  France should be mighty proud to be represented by Gundam Rose.  His name may be kinda gay but you should see what some of the other countries got stuck with.  8 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on December 19, 2011, in Gundam. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Not a fan of Gundam, or robots all that much, but a line of them based on country stereotypes seems cool.

Leave a Reply

