MARTIAN MANHUNTER

DC

Here is yet again another cutesy little version of character that looks more like it belongs in a preschool playroom than in the display of a “serious” collector. You’ve already seen my cutesy vending machine Daredevil and my Mighty Mugg Grimlock and now I present to you my Martian Manhunter Blammoid. Now Blammoids are really pushing the envelope when it comes to cute-ifying a known character. At first glance only an extreme comic book nerd would recognize this thing as the Martian Manhunter. I have a half dozen of these frumpy faceless oddities on my desk at work and absolutely nobody knows what to make of them. Maybe it would be different if I had superman or batman with their instantly recognizable emblems on their chests but as it is I have this wonky green guy and a handful of other obscure nobodys. When somebody sees my Martian Manhunter and asks what it’s supposed to be they seem to have a hard time picturing it when I say that he’s basically a bald green Superman when he looks more like a sickly Oompa Loompa. I do think these things are kinda cute but would never have bought any at their normal retail price of 14 bucks. It was only when my local comic shop Strange Adventures had an 80% off sale that I caved and grabbed all that they had in stock. The problem with doing that is, as a collector it’s very hard to stop once you get started. I haven’t yet run out and dropped 15 dollars on another one to add to my collection but I wouldn’t say that it’s out of the realm of possibility. I think ol’ Manhunter here is one of the niftier looking ones that I have. His high collar and cloth cape really make him stand out from the pack. Each of the Blammoids have the exact same body construction so the paint job is all that separates them. The one area of these figures that allows for some personality is the nubby little head on top. Manhunter has a large overhanging brow which I think pretty effectively conveys the pensive emotionally stunted alien stare of the character. They manage to do a lot with a little on these things and for that reason I tip my hat.  Bravo.       6 out of 10

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on December 22, 2011, in DC. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

