MARTIAN MANHUNTER

DC

I figured for my next post I would review another Martian Manhunter in case people who read the last post didn’t know what they were looking at.  This is How Martian Manhunter is supposed to look.  Though even this version is stylized to look resemble the artwork of Ed McGuinness.  McGuinness is one of my favorite comic book artists who’s got a fun exaggerated cartoony style and this figure captures it pretty well.  Other figures that I’ll review later in this McGuinness inspired line do an even better job.  One thing I really love about some of these figures is the sheer size of them.  To accurately translate McGuinness’s bulky artwork the folks at DC Direct who produce these things really delivered the goods and these guys are BIG.  I’m pretty sure if I clubbed somebody with this thing it might kill them.  That actually reminds me of the time that my little sister clocked me in the back of the head with a cabbage doll when we were kids.  That hurt a lot.

Back To Martian Manhunter who from this point on I will refer to as J’onn. Just to give you quick background on this guy he is a shape-shifting alien named J’onn J’onzz  (John Jones) who got trapped on earth and became a superhero.  He’s basically got Superman powers like super strength and flight but instead of Kryptonite this guy’s weakness is fire.  I don’t have much an attachment to this character myself as I never read any books he was in when I was a kid but i do know a kick-ass figure when I see one.  7 out 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on December 23, 2011, in DC. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I just read all of your posts and they’re awesome 🙂 A sort of refresher of facts for lil ol’ me 🙂 Keep it up, babes!! This was an awesome idea!! 🙂

    Love you and see you soon!
    Your Shmoo (er, Vanessa)
    xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

