COBRA COMMANDER v48

G.I. JOE

This Cobra Commander figure is I believe version 48.  Of those 48 I’m sure I have more than half.  I don’t feel the need to buy every version that comes out as often times the variations are so small that you’d never even notice like “this one has a yellow belt and this one has a gold belt”.  I’d say 24 versions of one character is plenty.  The only character in my collection that might rival him in variations is the G.I. Joe ninja Snake Eyes.  Part of the problem is that these are two of the best known characters from G.I. Joe and so they regularly get included in each new wave of figures that comes out.  Often times I get saddled with another Cobra Commander just because I want the other figure or vehicle he’s paired with.  This particular Cobra Commander is based on his look in the 2011 animated series “G.I. Joe Renegades”.  I was happy to see G.I. Joe get a new cartoon this year but I didn’t much care for it personally.  Every time they re-vamp and re-brand the series in fails to grab my attention because it’s just not MY G.I. Joe.

When this figure first came out I passed on it and left it on the shelf.  I didn’t like his weird half face-mask and his cartoony detailing.  It just didn’t look like Cobra Commander.  Eventually though, that’s why I had to have him.  He doesn’t look like the dozens of other Cobra Commanders that I have and that originality is appealing.  I like that he looks cartoony enough to resemble the stylized animation of the cartoon but they toned it down just enough so that he blends in with my other more realistically styled Joes.  His accessories are pretty standard fare, pistol, snake staff and coiled pet cobra, all stuff we’ve seen before.  The inclusion of a fully helmeted head is nice though in case I want to display him looking more like his classic self.  I have plenty of fully masked Commanders on display though so I think I’ll leave this one as is.  It’s kind of grown on me.  7 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on December 28, 2011, in G.I. Joe. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I actually don’t own a Cobra Commander, even though there were multiples out even in the 80s. I always had a softspot for the hooded version, or the metallic armoured hooded version.

    • Obviously those two looks are the iconic ones. I also have a soft spot for the armor he wore for a while. I do enjoy when they take a familiar look and do a twist on it like they did for this figure.

Leave a Reply

