DONATELLO

TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES

The turtles came about just a little too late for me to get really into them.  I had the comics and enjoyed the show and before the figures came out I had resorted to making paper versions with split pin joints.  When the figures arrived I got the first couple of waves and I remember one of my first major purchases with my own money earned from my paper route was buying the Turtle Van.  But this was the late 80s and Ninja Turtles never quite got in my blood so to speak the way that G.I. Joe and Transformers did.  I got rid of pretty much all of my TMNT figures which is kind of a bummer but I kept my absolute favorites.  Leonardo, Donatello, Mondo Gecko and Usagi Yojimbo.  Leo and Donnie were the only two of the turtle quartet that I owned as with everything else I split the collection with my brother so Doug owned Raphael and Michelangelo.  I preferred the more sensible level-headed turtles as opposed the the temperamental and party animal turtles.

I think my two turtles trumped Doug’s two turtles not just in personality but it action figure form as well.  Mike and Raph were both obnoxious plasticy looky shades of green where as Leo and Donnie were much darker and more believable.  I think Leo’s shade was probably the best of the bunch but Donatello is a close second.  It’s hard to praise one turtle over the other as far as their sculpting goes as they’re all pretty similar.  Each figure had a unique belt with their initial on the belt buckle.  Donnie’s had a cool holder on the back where he could store his bow when not in use.  The bow of course is Donnie’s unique weapon but he also came with a rack of generic weaponry that each of the other turtles came with as well.  I think Donatello had the best head sculpt of the bunch with the teeth gritted on both sides of his head.  These figures weren’t perfect as the articulation could have been better and they lacked personality in their faces.  It was leaps and bounds better than my paper version but I think the best Donatello figure is yet to be made. 5 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The TMNT while pretty cool as a cartoon, had pretty bad figures (so far as playability goes). They also drifted into pretty silly figures pretty fast (Space Turtles, Dancing Turtles ect).

    Still, the original set is pretty cool to display

Leave a Reply

