NEO-VIPER v9

G.I. JOE

Quick G.I. Joe History lesson CHAPTER 3: The demise of the new sculpt era of G.I. Joe in 2006 came just in time for the 25th anniversary of the 3 3/4″ G.I. Joe toys which first hit the market in 1982.  2007 was a great year to be a Joe fan as Hasbro launched the 25th anniversary figures.  Originally there was only going to be 25 figures released of the most popular characters but the line was such a hit that Hasbro kept in going right up until now.  Mind you they’ve changed the name from 25th anniversary to Rise of Cobra, Pursuit of Cobra and then currently the 30th anniversary which will soon give way to the G.I. Joe :Retaliation figures. But primarily they’re all one big line which has become known as the modern era.  The modern era figures are a little taller and far more detailed.  They often include a ton of accessories and they represent characters in their most iconic uniforms.  The 80s figures have a charm about them but the modern era figures blow them away in my mind and if I could only keep one set I would keep the new ones.  One of the best aspects of the modern era is that they’ve done away with the rubber washer or “O-ring” that was previously used to hold all G.I. Joe figures together.  Back in the day the O-ring was great and it’s what gave the Joes so much more flexibility than other figures like Star Wars.  However after long periods of time the O-ring dries up like an elastic and snaps.  I have buckets full of 80s era Joes in pieces because their O-rings rotted away.  In time my new sculpt Joes will suffer the same fate.  But not modern era Joes!  Their innovative new joint structure allows them to retain their posability but they will better stand the test of time.

For this post I again went with a figure that I don’t have much to say about.  This is a Neo-Viper figure from the Rise of Cobra series of modern era figures.  He kind of sucks but whatever.  I have this figure in multiple colors so I’ll talk more about him next time.  4 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 3, 2012, in G.I. Joe. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

