ZOMBIE-VIPER

G.I. JOE

Anything with Zombies that I enjoy I  always preface by saying ” Now I don’t usually like Zombies but…”.  Well I think I’m just gonna have to stop saying that.  I did not care for the slew of bad zombie movies in the 70s and 80s but those days are long behind us.  I enjoyed the Dawn of the Dead remake, I love the Walking Dead comic book and enjoy the tv series, I loved both 28 days and 28 weeks later and the comic book series that followed, I’ve enjoyed the Marvel Zombies series of comics which feature zombified versions of Spider-man and other marvel characters…I guess I like zombies.  At least I like zombies done well the same way I like pretty much anything done well and it just seems that lately the guys making the zombie movies and comic books are knocking it out of the park more often than not.  I do not love the idea of Zombies in my Joeverse.  I like to think that the Joes are mostly grounded in reality and concepts like this are a little hard to swallow.  The way that they’re explained on the file card on the back of the package is that they were standard Cobra infantry troopers who were given the mysterious compound Z which turned them into violent mindless drones.

Concept aside the figure is great.  The sculpting is deadly, especially on the face.  He’s got a nasty scowl on his face and you can see his individual teeth and hairs and muscle tissue where his flesh has been torn away.  The flesh is painted gray with bright blue highlights which represent the compound Z oozing through his body.  I think this color scheme works and keeps him from being too gory for kids.  His regular human hands can be swapped out for long tendril like arms which I assume represent some mutation that allows him to stretch his form like Venom from Spider-Man.  He also comes with a cool helmet  made mostly of translucent blue plastic so that you can still see his ugly mug when you put it on him.  The helmet has a tube that connects to a compound Z canister plugged into his back.  It’s details like these that make out-there concepts like zombie-vipers easier to embrace. 8 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 3, 2012, in G.I. Joe. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’d never seen anything like this. I’m guessing it is from the last few year? Looks pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

