CYCLONUS

TRANSFORMERS

I already talked about the 1986 animated Transformers movie in my Unicron post and how it nearly destroyed my childhood.  Like a lot of Transformers fans it’s grown on me over time and in hindsight I actually respect some of the bold and unpopular choices they made.  At the time I rejected all of the new characters as they were abruptly thrown into the spotlight replacing all my old favorites.  Nowadays those “new” characters from 1986 coexist side by side with the early 80s classics.  In the modern comic books Megatron and Galvatron are now two separate characters and actions figures of Kup can be released in the same wave as Warpath or Perceptor.   In fact I’ve grown quite fond of the characters that were forced down our throats in that movie and the animated series that followed.  As I peruse my transformers shelf I’m actually surprised at how many ’86 characters I have: Unicron, Kup, Scourge, Wreck-gar, Blurr, Arcee, Rodimus, Cyclonus and even a Quintesson.  I promised my nephew Carter that I’d watch Transformers: The Movie with him next time he’s over as he was present at my recent purchases of Unicron and Cyclonus and he was asking me a lot of questions about them.  I’m actually really looking forward to revisiting the film myself.  Plus I kinda want to see Carter’s face when he, a 5 year old recently anointed Transformers fan watches Optimus Prime die.  I guess I’m just a bastard.

Of the characters spawned by the film I think Cyclonus was one of the cooler ones.  The toy that was released back then was a clunky mess as were many  80s Transformers toys but this one is pretty rad.  It looks very much like the source material and has a good degree of flexibility.  The colors are spot on and he has a cool light piping effect to give his eyes a menacing glow.  A lot of transformers make use of light piping these days but I’m finding it especially noticeable on Cyclonus who is standing in front of my computer monitor giving me the evil eye.  For those of you not in the know light piping is a simple effect that makes a figure’s eyes appear to glow by putting a translucent piece of plastic on the back of the head and on the eyes so that when backlit the light shines through.  It was first used very effectively on Jawa figures from the Star Wars line.  As a character I like how Cyclonus is portrayed as competent and loyal second-in-command which is the complete opposite of his predecessor Starscream.  Cool figure of a cool character.  7 out of 10.

In his Spaceship Alt mode

As he appeared in the animated movie

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 5, 2012, in Transformers. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

