R5-D4

STAR WARS

Everybody loves R2-D2.  He’s cute, he’s funny and he’s saved the day on numerous occasions.  My girlfriend had never seen a Star Wars movie before until recently when I made her watch all 6 and the character that won her over was R2 with his zany antics.  I like R2 just fine but wasn’t so easily wooed by his beeps and blips as other were.  I always preferred R5-D4.  Why, you may ask.  R5 only appeared in once scene in the whole series and all he did was break down.  That may be so but I thought he looked cooler than R2 and once I had a figure of R5 in my hands as a kid my imagination took over from there.  Now it was R5-D4 saving the day and not nearly as cornbally as R2-D2.  That one scene of him with his motivator malfunctioning just after Luke and his uncle purchased him made him sympathetic and infused enough of a personality into him for me to run with.

As far as R2 units go (R5-D4 is still considered an R2 unit, I’m not sure how that system works) you’d be hard pressed to find a better action figure than this one.  This figure is 6″ tall as he is to scale with the 12″ line of dolls.  The size of the figure allowed the sculptors to capture the finer details that can’t be done on the little 2″ figures.  Yet he’s not TOO detailed because like all R2 units he’s basically a garbage can with legs.  So the scuplting is great but what really stands out on this figure is the paint applications.  There’s dirt and sand all over this guy, he looks straight up grubby but it adds to his realism.  We never saw a factory fresh sparkling clean R5 on screen so I’m not sure why his action figures would be, this R5 looks “lived in”.  He’s got all the movement you’d need in a figure  like this.  His legs move, his ankles move, and his head turns.  He does have a cool third leg which is retractable and all 3 legs have wheels on them so he can glide across the dreaded sand dunes of Tatooine or the perilous bedroom carpet with ease.  7 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 7, 2012, in Star Wars. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I never needed any R2s besides the superstar.

    When you introduced Vanessa to Star Wars did you start with Episode I or Episode IV?

Leave a Reply

