RED HULK

MARVEL UNIVERSE

I’m a total Marvel Zombie but when Hasbro launched their Marvel Universe line of figures in 2009  I didn’t pay much attention.  I was already collecting a few various toy lines and I had a ton of old Toy Biz Marvel figures already.  The Toy Biz figures were in the 6″ scale and these new Universe figures in the 3 3/4″ scale.  I liked that the new figures were to scale with my biggest toy collection G.I. Joe because that’s what I dreamed for when I was a kid.  I liked when toy lines were compatible so you could merge them if you wanted to.  That need doesn’t matter to me so much as an adult because I don’t actually play with my toys, but back in the day I would’ve loved to have a Captain America that could fight along side my G.I. Joes.  So I resisted the urge to check out these new Marvel figures assuming that they would fizzle out soon enough anyway.  It wasn’t until the 4th wave of figures that I finally caved and bought one and it was this guy, Red Hulk.  As I mentioned in an earlier Martian Manhunter post, I love the artwork of Ed McGuinness.  The Red Hulk was a relatively new character at the time who had been given his own book to fill the slot of the Green Hulk who was temporarily out of commission.  I’ve never been a big Hulk fan but Ed’s artwork lured me in to reading this new book.  The writing was ridiculous but you couldn’t argue with the artwork.

When this figure showed up on the pegs at my local comic shop I was immediately impressed with how they were able to capture McGuinness’s  style in such a small figure.  Usually artist inspired figures are twice as big as this.  The overly exaggerated muscles, the bulky stance, right down to the sneer on his face all looked they jumped right out of Ed’s sketchbook.   I reluctantly picked the figure up because I know myself all too well; this would be the start of another unwieldy collection of little plastic men.  A couple of months later I was buying a case on Ebay able to house 88 of these Marvel figures.  I figured that would last me a while even with Marvel Universe being my fastest growing collection.  By the time the cases arrived my collection had already outgrown them.  I have 107 of these little bastards at the moment threatening to overtake other shelves reserved for Transformers and G.I. Joes.  The series has shown no signs of ending and with so many Marvel movies and cartoons coming out it’s more likely the waves of new figures will become even more frequent.  I’m gonna end up buying them all and it’s this guys fault.  8 out of 10

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Marvel. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love this figure!! I have mine right buy my computer and I fiddle with it all he time. I wish they would make a Green Hulk that I’m as happy with as this one.

Leave a Reply

