ROYAL GUNDAM

GUNDAM

As I’ve said before, I buy these things because they look cool but I have no idea what the story is.  As I write these up I try to find out a few little facts that I can talk about.  For example: this guy is known as John Bull Gundam in the original Japanese cartoon and only called Royal Gundam in America.  That’s one of the reasons I initially had a hard time finding a picture of him on the internet to steal for this post.  It also probably didn’t help that I was googling “Russian Gundam”.  I just assumed this guy was supposed to represent a Russian robot, I was sure Russian dudes wore big black furry hats like this when they’re doing that weird squat dance.  As it turns out this guy is actually an English robot which makes a ton of sense once I realized it, he’s supposed to resemble the palace guards with their big hats and statue-esque  demeanor.  I remember seeing this figure on the shelves at Walmart or somewhere back in the late 90s when it would’ve first been released and I passed on him.  I remember thinking he was cool but I decided a while ago that I was done buying Gundams.  I was simply getting too many of them and to many of them looked to similar.  When I saw this guy I thought “well maybe I could get this guy, he looks different enough”.  But this was one of those rare occurrences when my inner grown up voice won the argument and said, “No, you stopped collecting these things, forget about it.  it’s a waste of money.”

Well about 12 years later guess who I’m buying on the internet for twice what I would’ve paid for him back then.  I’ve learned to never listen to my inner adult as he sucks and doesn’t know what he’s talking about.  This figure is straight-up cool.  I actually like him more now than I did 15 minutes ago now that I realize he’s an English guard. Although it’s kind of silly I actually think the hat is really awesome and his body armor gives the impression of a heavy coat with long tails in the back.  You can never go wrong with red and black as a color scheme but the few yellow highlights really make this figure pop.  I like that his gun as an old school rifle vibe mixed with the modern laser.   Pretty sweet.  9 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Gundam. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

