TINY GOODBITE

THE CALIFORNIA RAISINS

As you may have noticed by now I collect a little bit of everything and always have.  I was never that kid that was obsessed with Transformers and nothing else, I liked everything.  Maybe not everything, there are actually many popular 80s toy lives that I never really got into even though I may have enjoyed their cartoons.  I never had Thundercats,  M.A.S.K., Silverhawks or Sectaurs as a kid but I do appreciate them all.  One thing I do have is a nice little set of California Raisins.  Those of you not in the know, the California Raisins started out in a commercial who’s sole purpose was to sell raisins.  The commercial featured a number of claymation dancing raisins singing “I heard it through the grapevine”.  This commercial was crazy popular and before long the California raisins were everywhere.  As far as merchandise goes I think I may have had a shirt with a raisin on it, I definitely had a sticker album which I quite enjoyed.  Every time we went to the grocery store my parents would buy me a pack of stickers which were up by the cash register and I’d tear ’em open hoping to avoid getting doubles.  The album came with old school red and blue 3D glasses  which allowed you to see cool 3D images created by the stickers.  Speaking of albums, I also had the California Raisins Christmas cassette.  It’s funny because I have zero interest in mo-town style music but as a kid when I imagined dried fruit singing those songs I loved it,  weird.  Of all the Raisin merchandise I think the coolest were these 2″ figurines which were available only through Hardee’s restaurants.  You’re probably wondering what the hell is a Hardee’s?  Honestly I’m not sure.  I do remember getting these figures from a restaurant but apparently we don’t have Hardees in Canada according to the internet so I’m not sure where they came from.  Doug might remember:  Doug if you read this post please answer below.  He’s a couple years older so he remembers this stuff better than I do.  While flicking through the internet I also discovered this character’s name for the first time.  I had no idea they held a contest years ago to name the Rasisins and this guy got saddled with Tiny Goodbite.  I had planned on calling this post California Raisin Singer.

The figure itself is pretty cool and that little face captures a lot of emotion.  I really believe this guy is singing his heart out.  There’s no movement in these figures but the plastic is malleable so you can move their arms a little bit if you so desire.  I like the fact that for a naked raisin he still manages to pull of a formal look with the bow-tie, gloves and shoes.  I might go out on a limb and say these are the best “happy meal” toys ever released.  8 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Awww i love this 🙂 CFR were a childhood favorite of mine too 🙂 I still have my california rasins autograph book at home in cb somewhere 🙂 xoxo

  2. I have all three sets that came out thru hardees

Leave a Reply

