NEMESIS ENFORCER v2

G.I. JOE

After their introduction in G.I. Joe: The Movie in 1987 we never saw Nemesis Enforcer or the other members of Cobra-La again.  The all seemed to have met their demise at the end of the movie but I had hoped they’d return at some point.  It took 20 years before they were cleverly worked into a G.I. Joe/Transformers cross over comic in 2007.  It was nice to see Cobra-la again but it was a little disappointing that it was only in a 2 issue “alternate reality” story that didn’t really count in the grand scheme of G.I. Joe.  I was very pleasantly surprised when I saw that a figure 2 pack was to be released as part of the 25th anniversary series featuring Nemesis Enforcer along with his movie co-star Lt. Falcon.   I’m still waiting for nice updated  figures of Golobulus and The Royal Guard but I’ll take what I can get and for now that’s Nemesis Enforcer.  They actually called this figure Nemesis Immortal probably for some silly legal licensing issue but we all know what his real name is.

While it’s still a little hard to view this guy as a real danger while wearing mauve, this figure does capture the feel of the character much more successfully than the original figure.   First off he’s big; modern sculpting allows the Joes to be different heights and that works very effectively on a character like this.  His muscle mass has improved and the addition of removable armor adds a lot of bulk to this figure as well.  One feature I really like is the arm blades on his forearms are very pronounced.  He used them a lot in the movie but they were pretty pathetic looking on the original figure, on this one they appear as believably deadly weapons.  His face sculpt is way better than the original with some real personality infused this time.  Now he looks like he’s ready to fight as opposed the original’s waiting in line at the DMV look.  The biggest improvement is the wings.  Finally an impressive wing span that matches his look from the movie.  There is simply no comparison in this department, the new guy wins hands down.  The only negative thing I have to say about this figure is that the bulky armor and large wings make him quite top heavy so he tends to flop over.  7 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 15, 2012, in G.I. Joe. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

