SALLY

THE NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS

I’ve already talked about how much I enjoyed this movie so I won’t get into that again.  The look of this movie has been aped by other film makers and even Tim Burton himself in the years since it’s release but at the time it was so original and unique looking.  Every character, even the ones I didn’t love like the mad scientist Dr. Finkelstein, were interesting to look at and just screamed to be made into an action figure.  Of all the weird and wonderful characters I think Sally was one of the coolest looking.  The stitched up body was just so morbid for a “cartoon” that I loved it.  The big eyes, long hair and raggedy dress all came together nicely to make a creepy and oddly attractive character.  If anyone reading this thinks that’s a weird statement to make I’ll just let you know that I adore Courtney Love so I guess I kind of have a thing for dirty, walking dead train-wrecks.

This figure is a fantastic representation of the what appeared on screen.  The detailed stitching on her legs and arms is there as well as all over her patchwork dress.  She’s got a ton of accessories including a jack-o-lantern, a cat, a jack-in-the-box, the basket of goodies that she presents to jack, the poison she feeds to her keeper and the holed spoon she used to trick him.  It’s more accessories than I really need honestly as most of them end up in a box but I appreciate the effort.  Sally looks great and I wouldn’t change a thing about the figure itself but I do wish he could stand up on her own.  Her ankles are so small that there is no way they can support her weight even with the help of the included stand.  That aside, NECA has produced a very nice Sally figure.  Now I just have to cross my fingers and hope that someone make a Courtney Love figure. 7 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 16, 2012, in Nightmare Before Christmas. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi, I was wondering if you want to sell this figure? Im special interested on the cat and accessories! Just let me know! Take care! Bye bye

Leave a Reply

