THE WOLF MAN

UNIVERSAL MONSTERS

I’ve only been doing this blog for a month but already I fear that I may start repeating myself.  Writing all this nonsense about these toys has been taking up so much of my free time lately that it’s starting to permeate my brain and I find myself thinking about it when I’m lying in bed trying to fall asleep of staring blankly at my computer screen at work.  I get ideas of things to write about and then later I can’t remember if I actually typed something out or just thought about doing it.  I feel this article could potentially repeat things I said in my Creature from the Black Lagoon or Dracula post but whatever, deal with it.  I do love all of the classic Universal Monsters.  My favorite one by a long shot was always the Wolf man.  I used to think that I loved werewolves in general but after watching 100 crappy werewolf movies I realized that it can’t just be any werewolf; it has to be the Wolf Man.  The original movie from 1941 starred Lon Chaney Jr. as Larry Talbot the poor schmuck that gets bit by a werewolf and inherits the curse of the Wolf Man.  It’s a great movie that every horror fan should check out.  A couple of other awesome horror actors of the time pop up in supporting roles like Bela Lugosi (Dracula) and Claude Rains (The Invisible Man).  I always enjoy when these classic stories get retold for a new generation, Dracula is redone every few years but the Wolf Man hadn’t been revisited in ages so  when it was announced that a re-make was going to be released I was pretty stoked.  The first few shots of Benico Del Toro in the make up that came out looked amazing but they were accompanied by news of bad scripts and fired directors which didn’t give me much hope.  When the movie came out in 2010 I didn’t LOVE it, but I liked it.  The Oscar Winning practical make-up was amazing and I’m so glad they went that route instead of computer animation.  The story was alright but it didn’t top the original.

It makes sense that a decent movie would result in a decent action figure.  That isn’t always the case but it was this time around.  This Wolf Man figure produced by NECA is definitely a cool looking toy and was a welcome addition to my monster shelf.  He’s about 6″ tall but seems bigger because of the way his legs are sculpted.  If he were to stand up right he’d probably gain another 2 “.  The face sculpt is very well done and the ball jointed neck gives him plenty of head movement.  The rest of the figure lacks in that department though with only a few points of articulation.  His display poses are limited but the few he can do are pretty cool.  His vest is a malleable separate piece of plastic which gives him some nice layering.  He was available in either a “clean” or a bloody variant version.  I got the clean one but it’s nice to have options based on how morbid you are.  7 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

