ATOM

REAL STEEL

Like many of you probably did the first time you saw the trailer for Real Steel, I groaned and rolled my eyes.  A boxing robot movie with Hugh Jackman?   Give me a break.  But then I thought about it a little and realized, This is a boxing Robot movie starring Hugh Jackman!  I decided I was gonna see it.  I didn’t expect much from the story line but I figured the effects would make it worth a watch.  Not too many people I knew wanted to see it, most people were still groaning and rolling their eyes but my buddy Miguel took the chance with me and you know what, I really liked it.  It had bits of Rocky and Over the Top and even a little bit of E.T.  The effects were top notch, in fact it was nominated for the visual effects Oscar just the other day.  However the story line was what really drew me in.  There’s nothing revolutionary about it, it’s actually pretty simple and familiar but most importantly it was good.  I left the theatre thinking why don’t they have toys of this movie?  If I was a kid I’d want them all.  Well I was at Walmart the next day and I happened upon a whole endcap packed with Real Steel toys.  Normally I would’ve known about these months in advance but since my favorite action figure news magazine TOYFARE got cancelled last year sometimes I find myself out of the loop.  Needless to say it was a pleasant surprise and I ended up buying a two pack featuring the robot star of the movie Atom and his two-headed opponent Twin Cities.

I really like this Atom figure.  He and Twin Cities are chilling out on my work desk with a slew of other toys and I like when people come up and ask what they are as it gives me a chance to recommend the underrated movie.  The sculpting on Atom is well done and the paint really helps it to shine.  The artificial wear and tear on the figure really give the impression that this bot has been through some scraps.  The figure could’ve benefited from some more articulation as he is a bit static and his legs seem a kind of bowlegged .  He has some cool features such as a light up chest and removable limbs that you can swap with other figures in the line.  The chest lights up when you hit the back of the head which seems kinda weird as when you play with them I feel a frontal head shot would be a better method to set off the light but that’s a minor quibble.  I plan on getting more of these things.  6 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 26, 2012, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You’ve promoted Real Steel a few times, so I may have to give it a shot. I thought it looked bad at first.

Leave a Reply

