SWAMP VIPER v2

G.I. JOE

Yeah I know, another photography fail.  I’m gonna keep messing with it but my apartment doesn’t provide good lighting for this type of thing anywhere.  I’ll keep trying but may have to look at a camera upgrade.  Anyhoo, back to business.  This here is Swamp Viper and he was released as part of the Rise of Cobra movie line of figures even though he did not appear in the film.  The movie figures didn’t do much for me in general as I prefer the vintage looks of the Joes as opposed to the black leathery look of the film.  This guy here is kind of a new character thrown together as a Toys R Us exclusive, packaged with a Copperhead figure and the Sting Raider vehicle.  It was a pretty nice set but I passed on it at retail as I already had a Sting Raider boat and a couple of Copperhead figures so I couldn’t justify dropping 30 bucks just to get this guy.  It took me a while but I finally found a cheap loose one on ebay that I scooped up a couple of weeks ago.  For no real reason I always get my ebay purchases delivered to my folks place so I may have to wait a little while before I actually get them in my hands.  Well my Dad surprised me today by popping into work with a handful of ebay purchases that had arrived over the past few days.  It was a bit of a grab bag with a Joe, a Transformer and a pair of Battle Beasts.  Everyone in the surrounding cubicles were droning their way though their work this afternoon while I was tearing open packages like it was Christmas.

The figure itself is almost the exact same as the AVAC figure previously released only with new colors.  The only difference in the mold is they’ve given Swamp Viper new forearms for some reason.  I guess these ones look swampier.  The AVAC figure himself was just a mish-mash of repainted parts from other figures except he was given his distinct pointy little head.  The fact that they re-used the head here seems an odd choice for a swamp trooper as AVAC is a jet pilot.  The head is goofy looking and it’s hard to imagine a real persons head fitting in there but I like it anyway.  This sculpt actually looks pretty good in this blend of grey and pea green.  6 out of 10.

AVAC

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in G.I. Joe. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

