EMPEROR ZURG

TOY STORY

It is 1:00am on a Wednesday night and I’ve got a few beers in me and I need to get up in the morning for work in less than 6 hours.  I should be going to bed instead of sitting down at my computer to start a new blog entry and yet here I am.  I mostly write this blog for myself;  it keeps me flexing my writing muscles,  let’s me feel like I’m being creative and helps me justify the hundreds of dollars I spend on little plastic men.  But this particular article is not for me, it’s for my buddies Miguel and  Adam.  These two guys have been checking my blog everyday and I hate the thought of not having a fresh article for them to read tomorrow and letting them down.  There’s a blog similar to this that I check everyday and though it’s a short and sweet read it’s a bright spot of my day and I look forward to a fresh blog entry every day.  It’s expected, the site is called Joe a Day after all.  Check it out, it inspired this blog.  I myself have not committed to an entry a day or any schedule for that matter but knowing I have “readers” compels me to keep  typing away, even if it’s total nonsense like this article is shaping up to be.  Hope you’re enjoying it anyway fellas.

It probably wouldn’t surprise you to know that I love the Toy Story movies.  I think that all 3 of them have been absolutely brilliant and hilarious.  If I had to pick a favorite I would pick Toy Story 2.  It’s got the toy collector story line which hits kinda close to home.  The idea of Woody being a rare collector’s item and the tour of vintage “Woody’s Round-Up” memorabilia was just fantastic.  A high point of Toy Story 2 was the introduction of Buzz Lightyear’s arch nemesis/father, the Evil Emperor Zurg.  I loved the nod to Star Wars and the character design was great.  Zurg looks like what I always imagined Dr. Claw looked like.  I was very happy to see his character revisited in the Pixar short shown before the new Muppets movie.

The action figure is a perfect likeness to his screen appearance.  The colors are spot on, the articulation is just right, and the gun is awesome.  I usually don’t care much for action features in my figures but Zurg has a button on his waist that when pressed makes Zurg say some of his movie dialogue which really ups the cool factor on this toy.  The voice is the same as in the film and it still sounds great even after all these years.  I could go on about this toy and I could go on forever about the movies but I need to get to bed.  See you tomorrow. 9 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. yeah my second mention in this blog!

  2. Thanks for posting, ya lousy drunk.

    Somehow, I’ve never seen Toy Story 2. Jessie, just on the commercials, annoyed me. For some reason I wrote it off as a lame sequel. I think I did catch small parts of it when it used to be on the large tv at RENTOWN in superstore. I think Wayne Knight or Newman, is the toy collector?

    Maybe I’ll see it with the little guy as he liked Toy Story 3.

  3. I read every day. I just don’t always comment.

Leave a Reply

