TANGLIN PANGOLIN

BATTLE BEASTS

A week ago I reviewed  Diving Duckbill, a platypus Battle Beast that I had recently acquired.  In that post I mentioned to you, my valued readers that I only needed 5 more Beasts to have the complete North American set.  I listed them off and told you to keep your eyes peeled.  Well just a day or two later my brother Doug told me that we found a lot of about 30 Battle Beasts on kijiji that the seller was asking $70 for.  I checked out the ad and low and behold 3 of the 5 figures I needed were in the lot, and they were just up the road from me!  I emailed the guy offering up $10 for the 3 figures.  I anxiously waited to hear from him but  the day came and went with no response.  How much would it suck to know they were so close but had already sold.  It was while me and Andrew were toy shopping in Dartmouth that I got a text from the guy, 10 bucks worked for him.  Me and Andrew scooted over to his neighborhood to make the purchase.  Only he lived a street lined with big nice houses far back from the street and it was dark and rainy out.  We had to slowly drive up and down the road a couple of times before finally spotting a number on one of the houses.  I texted him once we were parked out front.  I saw him exit the house and start heading towards the car and felt bad that he was stepping out in the rain so I hopped out of the car and met him halfway up the driveway.  In what I’m sure appeared like a shady drug deal I handed him the cash and he pulled the goods from his pocket.  “are these the ones?” he says.  “yeah, that’s them.” I said as I stuffed them in my pocket.  I couldn’t help but think how hilarious it would be if a bunch of cops swooped in just then thinking they were about to make a narcotics bust and instead found us swapping armor suited zebras.

This guy is pretty simple but he’s cool.  First off you may be wondering what a pangolin is.  Vanessa didn’t believe me that it was a real animal when I told her about my big score.  I had to go to wikipedia to prove to her that these things exist.  They’re a type of anteater, often referred to as the scaly anteater.  As a kid I had a grocery bag filled with those small plastic zoo animals that you buy in packs at the dollar store and I had a pair of pangolins.  I didn’t know what they were called at the time but they looked like a cross between an anteater and an armadillo (two of my favorites) so they were alright in my book.  This Pangolin  does the under appreciated species justice.  His head sculpt is nice and he appears to have a bit of a sneer on his face.  You’d be hard pressed to find a friendly looking Battle Beast actually. The armor is nicely detailed but is painted a peachy flesh tone which may not have been the best choice.  He’s got a pretty nasty looking claw hand as well which would be good for digging up an anthill and for laying some smack down.  Thank you Doug for this find.  Now I just need the hooded lizard and the penguin.  Get on it people.  7 out of 10.

awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on February 15, 2012, in Battle Beasts. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Deal!!!! As long as I can dress him up as a pug from time to time :):):)

Leave a Reply

