SCORPION vs HOBO

IMAGINEXT LOST CREATURES

As much as I’m nostalgic for the toys of my youth I can’t help but get excited when I wander down the preschool aisle at the toystore.  (I realize that sounds creepy)  All I mean is that some of the toys geared toward pre-school children are actually pretty awesome.  Almost every toy line that I love has a cutesy version for young kids.  Star Wars, G.I. Joe and Transformers are all available in little two packs under names like Galactic Heroes and Combat Heroes.  One of the coolest toy lines available for young kids these days is the imaginext line from Fisher-Price.  They make all kinds of awesome Batman stuff including vehicles and playsets and the figures themselves are about two inches tall and stylized with big hands and feet.  Before they got into making super heroes though the imaginext line caught my eye a few years ago when I saw their Lost Creatures series.   Each pack came with a cute and colorful oversized creature and, as far as I could tell, a hobo.  How could you not love a Hobo vs a Giant Scorpion or a Giant Cobra.  I thought they were absolutely hilarious and I wanted them.  I couldn’t justify buying them for myself but every time I went to Walmart I had to show them to whoever I was with.  I’m not sure if anybody ever got as big a kick out of them as I did but I felt they needed to be shared.  In all honesty I realize that these figures are probably not meant to be vagrants but more likely cast-aways stranded on some prehistoric island.  Regardless the hobo angle was more amusing.  Well my ex girlfriend Toni heard my cries for help and bought me both the Scorpion and the Cobra sets for my birthday a couple of years ago.  Yay!

 

 

I actually didn’t open them as they look pretty cool the way they’re displayed in the package and I always intended to display them that way.  The packages are open front so that you can still pull a trigger on the creatures to activate their strike attack.  The scorpion is cool, bright and colorful as I mentioned but the real star of the set is the hobo.  He’s got a hipster bedhead haircut swept over one eye and his clothes are tattered.  He looks like he’s been on the losing end of his battle with the scorpion and yet he’s still smiling, you have to admire that.  7 out of 10.

 

 

 

 

 

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on February 23, 2012, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

