DAGGIT

BATTLESTAR GALACTICA

I will preface this by saying I am not a Battlestar Galactica fan.  I realize that the 2000 era series has a very large fan base but I do not count myself among them.  I’m sure it’s wonderful but I’ve never been bothered to watch even a single episode.  I can’t say that I actually recall ever watching the original series either which aired back in the late 70s and early 80s.  Maybe I never did but that didn’t stop me from having some of the toys.  I’ve been a toy junkie for as long as I can remember so if I saw a cool robot on the shelves I wanted it whether I had actually seen the movie or not.  Now while I don’t recall this actually happening I can totally imagine myself getting very exciting when seeing this figure on the shelves for the first time back when I was a toddler.  I’ve always loved animals and little robots, combining the two is a match made in heaven.  I probably broke out my irresistible puppy-dog eyes on my defenseless parents thus forcing them to buy me this toy.  If that is indeed how it happened I’m not sure why the only other BSG toy I ended up with was Imperious Leader, perhaps the goofiest looking figure I’ve ever owned.  I’m certain I never would have begged for that thing in a toy aisle, he must have been a gift.  Imperious fell victim to a yard sale or something (and even that I regret…I can’t part with anything without kicking myself for it later) but I held onto Daggit.

Imperious Leader. Don't look under the cloak...shudder.

 

I was never really sure what his story was and never much cared but I decided to look him up before writing this entry.  Apparently Daggit was the word used in place of Dog on the planet of Caprica where BSG took place.  So Daggit isn’t this guys name at all, just his species, how interesting.   Anyway, the little boy in the series’ daggit named Muffit gets killed and so he given this robotic replacement named Muffit II

The figure itself is pretty cool.  I actually think it looks better as a toy than in the live-action series.  I find the sculpted fur makes him look more believable than the nappy furry thing we see on screen.  He’s pretty well articulated for a dog figure.  I suppose this is because he was packaged alone and had to pass for a legitimate action figure.  Most animal figures I have don’t have any articulation at all because they were packaged with a human character more as an accessory.  Daggit has joints at his neck, all four legs, and his weird poodle like tail which has long since broken off of my figure.  I’ve always loved this toy and am glad I held onto him all these years.  Now I’m off to go look for Imperious Leader on ebay.  7 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on March 3, 2012, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

