HEAVY ARMS

GUNDAM

It’s been 2 months since I reviewed a Gundam figure.  I only started this blog about 2 and a half months ago so it seems like ages.  The main reason my mind doesn’t jump to Gundam figures when I’m deciding on what toy to review next is as I’ve mentioned before, I don’t know much about them.  Gundam is one of my bigger collections and yet I never owned any of them as a kid, never even heard of them until I was close to 20.  I haven’t seen much of the animation so I don’t know any of the backstories and when I read about them online it just doesn’t interest me so I really have nothing to talk about.  So why did I buy so many Gundam figures when I had no previous attachment to the brand?  Because they look cool as all hell that’s why.

When the first wave of these figures caught my eye in Toyfare magazine it was Heavy Arms that stood out.  So many of the Gundams have similar features and this was before the release of the stereo-typed nationality themed figures I reviewed previously.  The majority of the figures were mostly white robots with guns, swords and similar designs.  Heavy Arms’ bright orange stood out from the pack.

This figure, more than the others looked like it stepped right out of the Robotech cartoon and I think that’s part of the appeal as well. I can totally see Rick Hunter piloting this badboy.  Like most of the Gundam figures the design is great and it’s loaded with articulation.  They’re to scale with G.I. Joes, Star Wars and Marvel Universe figures which I like as the lines can all be displayed together.  The kid in me likes when various toy lines are interchangeable.  Heavy Arms gets his name from being one of the most heavily armed of all the Gundams.  His hand can be removed and replaced with a double barreled gatling gun which looks cool as hell.  His chest and shoulders also open up to reveal hidden guns and missiles.  He’s got a sweet little blade attached to his right forearm which can swing around so that it extends past his hand adding a little extra stab to his punches, plus he comes with a big thick shield which can be attached to his left arm.  Heavy Arms is all kinds of awesome.  9 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on March 8, 2012, in Gundam. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ve got this guy…somewhere. Got him circa 1999 / 2000. A now defunct comics shop stocked them. If I recall Heavy Arms other interchangeable weapon was a single barrel gatling gun with a trigger on a fold out silver part that the other hand could hold. I found these pre-built American and European marketed action figure Gundam just as rubbish as the 1.18 scale Japanese kits I bought – bits kept falling off. I can remember one of Heavy Arm’s legs kept coming off at the ball joint at his hip, his shield didn’t fit in and stay in and the double barrel cannon was too heavy to stay up – and fell off constantly. I also got ‘Deathscythe Hell’ – just as rubbish. Out of the model kit types in 1.18 scale I know I got Epyon, loose thigh, ankle and ball joint for leg, and the main red / white / blue ‘leader’ which actually could turn into a plane of some sort but they were just as flimsy…I’m not surprised it never took off in the USA and UK, compared to something like ZOIDS these were…boring. Mind you…I am wondering where I put them….lol

    • The Gundams I bought were all pre-assembled action figures in the G.I.Joe 3 3/4″ scale. I do have one of the larger kits that I had to build myself and they are much more delicate. These figures are quite durable and of high quality. It probably would have taken off had the t.v show been better.

      • Mike, I ‘know’ these are pre-assembled Gundam’s in 3 3/4″ scale. I SAID so in my initial response because you said you didn’t know much about them…. I did buy them also as well as the 2 kit build types (Epyon and Wing Gundam that turn into a double cockpit plane and jet respectively) in the same scale made of different coloured bits of plastic on sprues as well as stickers that clip together without glue or painting needed and had super articulation too…I still disagree that the pre-built ones were ‘durable’, they aren’t, they’re just as flimsy as the kit form ones.

Leave a Reply

