HACKSAW JIM DUGGAN

WWF

I’ll be honest, I never really cared for Hacksaw all that much.  He always played to dumb for my liking.  The U.S.A! U.S.A! chant was fun for a while and who doesn’t like watching a guy getting smoked in the head with a 2 x 4 but I found Hacksaw boring for the most part.  I believed Hulk Hogan’s patriotism but Hacksaw’s just never seemed genuine to me, maybe because he played up the moron schtick so much.  I liked him enough to buy his figure though, not once but twice.  I had the big original LJN version which I got rid of and then I have this smaller crappier one which I held onto.  I really didn’t care much for this line of figures from Hasbro but they were all that was available at the time.  Doug and I bought most of series 1 and 2 before losing interest.

As far as likeness’s go these figures were really hit and miss.   Some of them came out quite well while others just looked ridiculous.  Often times it had to do with the action feature being added to the character.  Duggan here is actually one of the better likeness’s in the line.  His big dumb yelling face captures the real thing quite well though I think a painted tongue would’ve helped a lot.  That flesh colored tongue just creeps me out.  The gut hanging over the top of his shorts is pretty accurate as well.  Duggan was never one of the “abs” guys.  His action feature is appropriate, if you lift his arms over his head they quickly swing down delivering a crushing blow.  He could lay a real beat down on you with his 2 x4 if only it would stay in his hand.  The swinging motion tends to send it flying.

That’s about all I’ve got to say about this guy. meh.  2 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on March 15, 2012, in Wrestling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

