GRIZZLY BEAR

NATURE!

I’ve mentioned my European vacation on here once or twice that I took a few years ago.  It was an amazing trip through 7 different countries where I saw all kinds of cool things.  As cool as it was I probably never would have gone had my then girlfriend not taken the reins on getting it organized.  Traveling isn’t really in my blood.  I’m by no means opposed to it but it’s expensive to do and I’m not the best at saving money, I tend to blow it on action figures.  If I had a ton of money I’d travel all over the place but seeing as I don’t have all that much money I’m perfectly content to stay close to home.  This is probably why pre Europe the farthest I’d ever traveled was to Toronto. Technically I’ve been farther ( I was born in British Colombia) but those days of traveling as an infant hardly count.  Nope, pretty much since my family moved to Lower Sackville Nova Scotia when I was entering grade 3 I didn’t leave the province until I was in my early 20s.  I don’t remember the year or my age exactly, I may have only been 18 or 19 but somewhere around then I traveled on my own to Toronto.  I was going to visit my ex-girlfriend Rhonda and her new boyfriend, Mike.  They both worked in the day so I spent a fair amount of time just wandering around the city by myself, blowing a small fortune at the Silver Snail (what I believe may be the countries biggest comic shop).  Some of the trip highlights were going to see the Dandy Warhols play on my first night there in some packed sweaty little club, going to Canada’s Wonderland and for the first/only time in my life riding “real” roller coasters.  We went to some clubs, went to the Playdium which was a giant arcade restaurant that I thought was pretty sweet and I ate at Hooters for the first time.  Another nice little adventure we had was when me and Rhonda went to the Metro Toronto Zoo.  The Toronto Zoo kinda puts Nova Scotia Zoos to shame.  I hadn’t visited the Toronto zoo since I was a kid so it was nice to take it all in again.  Sadly this trip was about 15 years ago now so my memories of it are almost as hazy as my childhood memories would have been to me then.  When we hit up the souvenir shop they had all kinds of cool plastic animals as you might expect a zoo would.  I’ve always been a sucker for these things so I rummaged around to find a worthy critter to bring home with me to remind me of the experience.  I went with this bear.

I know I called it a grizzly bear in the title but I don’t know, I’m no expert, maybe it’s a brown bear.  He looks big and nasty though so I’m thinking he’s a grizzly.  He’s a big solid hunk of plastic like those old LJN wrestling toys which I like.  Some light weight hollow plastic toy just doesn’t command the same respect.  The sculpting isn’t uber detailed but it’s nice enough and it blends in with similar animal toys I have.  I also like the scale of it as it looks pretty believable sitting next to a G.I. Joe should I ever want to create some forrest diorama with Recondo fighting this beast off.  A decent souvenir from a great vacation.  6 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on March 18, 2012, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I believe that’s actually a yeti.

  2. And he’s saying ‘durrr wha?’

Leave a Reply

