JUNK GIRL

TIM BURTON

I’ve got this toy categorized under Nightmare Before Christmas but it really isn’t.  It is a Tim burton created character though so I feel comfortable placing her in that category.  Hopefully NBX goth fanboys don’t riot in the streets over it.  Junk Girl appeared in Tim’s book of poems titled The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy & Other Stories.  The first edition hardcover of the book was released in 1997, back when I was still a Burton fanboy myself.  I believe this was gifted to me by then girlfriend Rhonda.  It’s an awesome little book featuring 23 little poems about weird little characters that nobody but Tim Burton could’ve dreamt up.  Each poem is accompanied by Burton illustrations as well.  Burton has a unique and appealing art style but it’s far from complicated. It could very easily be mistaken for the doodles of a disturbed preschooler.  Some of the poems are a few pages long but most of them consist of just a few lines.

JUNK GIRL

There once was a girl who was made up of junk.

She looked really dirty, and she smelled like a skunk.

She was always unhappy, or in one of her slumps

perhaps ’cause she spent so much time down in the dumps.

The only bright moment was from a guy named Stan.

He was the neighborhood garbage man.

He loved her a lot and made a marriage proposal,

but she’d already thrown herself down a garbage disposal.

Yep.  Talented writer that Mr. Burton.  I actually quite the book, it’s dark and cute at the same time.  The figure was released in a 3 pack set along with The Boy with Nails in his Eyes, and the book’s title character Oyster Boy.  Four of these 3 packs were released by Dark Horse a few years back and I picked up 3 of them.  I believe additional characters were released with new editions of the book.  The sculptors did a great job at capturing Burton’s art style sometimes to the figures detriment.  They have suck skinny little arms and legs that the figurines are very delicate making me reluctant to display them.  My drunken friends have a tendency to bump my shelves and knock things over and the Burton toys would not survive the fall.  Even storing them without damaging them is tough. Junk girl is probably one of my least favorite characters from the book but when Vanessa saw her lying on the floor when I was digging out old toys to review she really liked her and requested i review her next so here we are.  Enjoy.  3 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on March 27, 2012, in Nightmare Before Christmas. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

