DOCTOR DOOM

SUPER HERO SQUAD

This post is a bit of a cheat.   I’m only supposed to be reviewing toys in my personal collection which this one is not.  It was for a short while though.

I was in a WINNERS store a little while back.  I detest Winners.  For those not familiar it’s a big discount store with “designer” brand stuff at cheap prices.  Like a cross between a Wal-Mart and a yard sale.  That’s the vibe I get.  Just feels “dumpy”.  When the Winners stores first started opening up around here a few years ago I wanted nothing to do with them.  Then one day I was dragged into one and I discovered that they had a crummy little toy department in the corner filled with reject toys.  Amongst the rejects though I found some real gems, and have many times since.   The local Winners stores seem to get excess toys from U.S. retailers that I never would’ve expected to find here.  For example, many U.S. chains like Target and Kay-Bee have exclusive figures that I never have access to because we don’t have those stores.  I usually end up buying those toys on ebay for 2 or 3 times what they originally sold for.  Well every once and a while I’ll find one of those rare toys at Winners, and on top of that, the damn things are at discounted prices!  I’ve paid $40 on ebay for Transformers that I’ve never seen in stores only to stumble across them a few months later in Winners selling for $10.  So on  my most recent trip to Winners I found a Superhero Squad 3 pack that was actually a San-Diego Comic-Con exclusive set.  I don’t know how they end up with these things but there it was.  I think the Superhero Squad toys and cartoons are pretty cool but I haven’t yet bought any as I don’t want to open the floodgates.  You know how I can’t buy just 1 of anything.   This set had to be bought though, not only was it rare but it was adorable.  The set included the Mayor, Iron Man and Doctor Doom.  Doom is what really sold me. 

Look at this guy.  Doctor Doom is the ultimate villain in the Marvel Universe.  He’s smart, powerful, has mastered science and magic, can travel through time  and he looks badass.  That metal face, fully armored body, green hooded cape and the stylish man-skirt make for a deadly and fashionable combination.  Sometimes I wonder about characters like him, does he ever get to relax?   Does he lounge around and watch TV in all of that armor?  Well now I know the answer: yes he does.  He just throws a housecoat over top.  The coat, the slippers and the anti-Iron Man mug are just amazing.  His metal mask even has morning beard stubble.  Awwwwww.  Despite all these comforts he still looks like a cranky sonuvab**ch.  So I picked up this set and passed it along to my nephew Alex (Doug’s kid) who already has a pretty impressive Superhero Squad collection.   I made sure to snap this pic though before letting it go.  This way I won’t be tempted to start collecting yet another toy line and I get to be a good Uncle in the process.  6 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on April 23, 2012, in Marvel. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I too have been trying to avoid falling into the never ending story that is the SHS line. But it’s tough. That Doom made my day. Too funny.

  2. prittykitty4ever

    I agree. Doctor Doom is the single best villain ever. Ever.

Leave a Reply

