ABBEY CHASE

DANGER GIRL

The comic book industry as a whole sometimes catches some flak for over sexualizing women.  The female characters are often drawn with proportions that would make a Barbie doll scoff and say, “That’s just unrealistic.”  Their breasts are bulbous, gravity defying spheres and their costumes leave little to the imagination.  You’d be hard pressed to find a male hero with even exposed arms where as their female counter parts are running around in thong bathing suits.  But such is the nature of the beast and I think most of the time people are overreacting.  Of course we comic fans like our super heroines to be drawn sexy.  And to be fair, the proportions depicted on the male heroes are pretty far-fetched as well, it’s unlikely I’ll ever be as ripped as Colossus.   It’s a fantasy so I say just leave it be.

However there are some books , usually published outside the big two (Marvel and DC) that are pretty blatant T & A books.  Books that feature heroines in torn school girl outfits, or bondage gear and who are always placed on the cover so that the viewer gets an “up skirt” shot or something.  Yep, there are lots of panties to be seen in the comic book world if that’s what you’re into.   I enjoy a drawing of a pretty girl as much as the next guy but I read comic books for the stories.  If I was solely looking for barely dressed cartoon characters I’m sure the internet could provide them.   Therefore I have no interest in buying shameless T & A books.  When I first saw the series Danger Girl I wrote it off as one of “those” books.   There was no denying artist J. Scott Campell’s  talent, the covers were tantalizing  and caught your eye but I was sure there would be nothing of substance inside.  I don’t recall what it was exactly that made me finally decide to check out the series.  Campbell may have been doing work for Marvel by this time and I was really falling in love with his art.  Or it may have been that a trusted friend recommended it to me, or it might have just been that the brightly colored and expertly designed covers finally got the better of me and I caved.   A good number of the books released by independent publishers are plagued by delays.  A reason for that is the artists often write, draw, ink and color their own books and they just can’t keep up with the demands of releasing a monthly book.  As I recall the first Danger Girl series was 7 issues long and in a perfect world would have started and finished within a 7 month span.  However delays resulted in months of lag time between issues.  In order to get readers up to speed on the series before the final issues were released, the publisher put out prestige format reprints that contained 2 issues each and had pin ups and character designs in the back.  I picked up the first 2 reprint books and this was my introduction to Danger Girl.

It was awesome.  Perhaps not overly original but that was partly what made it so instantly appealing.  It borrowed heavily from Indiana Jones, James Bond, and G.I. Joe.  All properties I loved but were currently dead in the water.  The Joe resurgence, Crystal Skull and Daniel Craig were still years away at this point.  I could tell that Campbell and writer Andy Hartnell had grown up loving the same stuff as me.  The nods to those established properties I mentioned were almost so blatant that at times I felt like I was reading a G.I. Joe meets James Bond cross-over.  The fun and familiar story telling accompanied by Campbell’s  fantastic artwork made for a really enjoyable read.  I have been a loyal DG devotee ever since, even after Campbell left the book to pursue other projects.  I’ve come to love the characters, especially Abbey Chase.

Abbey is the leader of the Charlie’s Angels like group who take orders from Deuce, a Sean Connery doppelganger.  She was recruited into the established team in that first mini-series.  A little raw at first, Abbey soon became the quintessential Danger Girl.  She’s beautiful, smart, skilful and fun.  That last bit is important as the series doesn’t take itself too seriously.  When McFarlane released his series of Danger Girl figures I was blown away by the quality.  The line consisted of the 3 main girls and Major Maxim who I previously reviewed.  They are all beautiful figures but Abby is probably my favourite of the bunch.  The figure itself captures the look of Campbell’s artwork brilliantly.  Abbey has that playful smirk on her face and that glimmer of naughtiness in her eye.  Her hair hangs over her face and she’s got her signature mole on her cheek.  The physique and proportions are great.  The McFarlane crew really outdid themselves on the figures display base.  Her name is there along with a Mayan ruin, ferns, bamboo rods and snakes, it’s just awesome.   The figure is lacking when it comes to articulation, having only a few joints.  She wouldn’t be much fun to play with but as a display piece she is stellar.  9 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on May 16, 2012, in McFarlane. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

