SPACEBOY

UMBRELLA ACADEMY

This is my second review of an Umbrella Academy figurine.  I previously reviewed the White Violin. That was one of my very first posts and I can’t recall what I wrote so I’m sure I’ll repeat some of it here.  The Umbrella Academy is comic book series published by Darkhorse Comics.  To date there have only been two 6 issue mini-series released of the title but hopefully more will follow.  The last series was published in 2008 so I think it’s about time for some new material.  The series is written by Gerard Way and illustrated by Gabriel Ba. Ba’s art is extraordinary and reminiscent of Mike Mignola’s (creator of Hellboy) style, and Way has proven himself to be a pretty great writer.  Gerard Way is better known as the lead singer of My Chemical Romance.  I only mention that here so that I can gush about the band a little bit.  I think those guys are f**king great.  Their most recent album, 2010’s Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys is still in heavy rotation on my ipod.  For that matter I’ve never stopped listening to 2004’s Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge.  They may not be everyone’s cup of tea but if you’ve never given them a serious listen I recommend you do.

So the Umbrella Academy is about a group of 6 flawed super heroes who grew up together as adoptive siblings at the Umbrella Academy.   All of the characters have something going for them but I think Spaceboy is my favorite.  Not only because I can’t say his name without the Smashing Pumpkins song “Spaceboy” immediately popping into my head (great song) but also because he looks the coolest.  

Spaceboy, or #1 as he is also known, has always had the power of super strength but after an accident resulted in his head being transplanted onto the body of a gorilla he became even stronger.   It makes for a great visual as he towers over all the other characters in the book.  I really wanted to post some great art work by Gabriel Ba on here to show you what I’m talking about but it was next to impossible to find any decent images online.  I snapped this one pic of Spaceboy out of my own comic but it doesn’t do Gabriel justice.  You really should just go out and buy the book and you’ll see what I mean.

As for the figure, this thing is just balls out awesome.  It sucks that it’s not articulated at all but it makes for a gnarly display piece.  The other figures in the set are small and tend to get lost in the chaos on my toy shelf but this guy has some girth to him and he demands to be noticed.  The paint job is brilliant and captures the work of the comic artists in a way I didn’t think was possible.  The paint apps just add so much depth and character to the figure.  The sculpt is amazing too, from the dynamic pose to the retro jet pack and attached hoses.  The design is very top heavy as that’s how he appears in the comics but with the attached base this figure never falls over.  It really is a toy masterpiece.  He only loses a point for the lack of movement.  9 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Comics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

