LOIS LANE

DC DIRECT

Last night I created a “mike’s collection” facebook page,  www.facebook.com/MikesCollection.  I’m sure most of you are on facebook by now as I feel like I was one of the last hold outs a couple of years ago.  Even my good buddy Ryan White finally caved and opened a facebook account a couple of months ago after resisting all this time.  My sister Angie is one of the last people I know not to have signed up.  So I invite all of you, except for Angie, to “like” my facebook page.  Every time I post on this blog I will update the facebook page and you’ll get a notification in your newsfeed.  I may post some extra content and musings on there from time to time as well.

So today I’ve decided to review my Lois Lane figure.  Many of you may be wondering, “what the hell is Lois wearing?”  Yes, Lois is a civilian reporter who usually dresses much more conservatively.  On the average day a knee length skirt with a blazer and some high heels is most likely what you’d find Lois wearing.  Of course that wouldn’t make for a very exciting action figure.  Personally I love female action figures, most collectors do, characters like Teela, Zarana and Arcee.  Unfortunately toy companies still consider children’s opinions when they make these things believe it or not and apparently little boys for the most part do not like playing with girl figures.  This is always what I’ve been told anyway but even as a kid I loved Scarlet and the Baroness so I’m not sure who these macho little kids are that toy companies have been  including in their focus groups.  These little tough guys are ruining things for those of us that are fans of the plastic female form.  Most boys toy lines only have 1 or 2 female characters included.  I’ve gotten off track here but basically if a toy company was planning on including a female action figure in their line they knew that they had better make her cool.  Give her a machine gun, make her a ninja, give her a tank to drive, certainly don’t sculpt her in a blouse and skirt.  You don’t want anything to reminiscent of a “girl’s toy”.  A purse accessory would have been the kiss of death for Princess Leia figure sales.  So this is why there probably haven’t been too many Lois Lane figures released over the years, she’s just too damn girly.

So if my options are no Lois Lane figure at all or a Lois Lane figure in some crazy super hero costume that helped get her made then I’ll take the crazy outfit.  There actually have been skirt and blazer Lois figures made in the past but none that would fit in with my display of 6” DC heroes and villains.  When this one came along I thought it was a good match for the other figures on my shelf and thus a good excuse to add a figure of one of DC’s most well-known supporting characters to my collection.  I should give Lois props here;  though she’s always been a supporting character in the Superman books she did have her own Lois Lane comic book for many years back in the 50s, 60s and 70s.

Silly costume aside this figure may not look like the Lois Lane you remember.  Her hair style and face are not immediately recognizable as the Daily Planet’s premiere reporter.  That is because this figure is based on the stylized artwork of Frank Quitely.  Quitely has been kicking around the comic book industry for a few years now and has become a fan-favorite artist.  He has a very unique and detailed style.  I first became a fan based on his covers for the vampire crime book: Bite Club.

Following that he did a 3 issue mini-series called WE3 about a dog, a cat and a rabbit trying to find their way home.  It was kind of like Homeward Bound except the animals were cyborgs armed to the teeth with deadly weapons and they tended to leave a gory mess of body parts in their wake. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

His most mainstream work to date was the 12 issue series he did for DC called All-Star Superman.  What was supposed to be the first of many All-Star books, similar to Marvel’s Ultimate line, ended up being a one of a kind project.  Other than a half-finished and half-baked Batman book, All-Star Superman was the only All-Star book ever released.  It was written by Grant Morrison and drawn by Mr. Quitely.  It presented a fresh new take on the Superman mythos and embraced some of the weirder elements of the golden age.  It was a good read and gorgeous to look at though I honestly wasn’t a big fan of the way Frank drew Superman himself.  In one issue Superman is able to give Lois a portion of his superpowers for 24 hours.  He presents her with this suit and they spend the evening romantically flying around together. 

When the figures based on the series were released some time later I was impressed by how the sculptors were able to capture the look of Quitely’s artwork so well.  As I said I wasn’t a big fan of how Superman looked but I was intrigued by the Lois.  Frank still made her pretty, but more cute than other artists.  The costume has a very retro golden age feel to it which I love.  I hummed and hawed about buying this figure for a long time and then one day Strange Adventures had it in their discount bin and the decision was made.  Her articulation is limited but I think she makes a great display piece and I think my Superman figure is happier having her around.  A welcome addition to any collection.  Girl Power.  6 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on July 7, 2012, in DC. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Andrew Vaughan

    I was having a conversation last night about female comic book characters with fans. It is rather weird how adapting females to toy lines or to movies the people in charge always take the approach that the female characters aren’t as well liked. Growing up reading comics the bat females were always some of my favorites and as I got older I started to really enjoy the way some writers do really strong female characters. The latest Wonder Woman is amazing and would make for a great film adaptation. Still in films and toys alike they think there isn’t a big enough audience for it. I’m with you though, we already talked about my mad She-Ra love in our co-review.

    • At least DC Direct has been good about putting out female characters since it’s a line geared towards collectors anyway. Marvel Universe has done a good job too. Joe has always been one of the better lines to include females and minorities. Though both Zarana and Jinx were released as SDCC exclusives because of the “girl toys don’t sell at retail” argument.

Leave a Reply

