PLATYPUS

NATURE

So today marks the end of my first week of vacation.  It’s been nice not going into work but I really haven’t done a whole lot.  It’s true that I’ve made some headway on my screenplay as was the goal but the weather has been beautiful the entire time and I’ve been wanting to go outside and do something summery before the vacation ends.  So today Vanessa and I decided to take a walk along the Halifax waterfront, seemed a nice cheap way to get outside and soak up some sun.  For those of you not from Halifax, it’s a port city with a very nice and often bustling waterfront.  The annual Jazz festival just wrapped up there yesterday and the Busker festival will be kicking off soon enough.  It’s the place all the tourists go  so there’s lots of little things to see and do around this time of the year.

On our walk down there we made a couple stops in some shops that we don’t visit very often.  First we popped into the discovery center, a science based museum/attraction.  I’ve never been in there so I’m not exactly sure what it is but they do have a store front when you first walk in that sells science related toys.  There was rubber dinosaurs and sea-monkeys and models of the human anatomy and other things like that.  One of the stranger things they’ve got is googly-eyed plush characters of various diseases and micro-organisms.  I’ve actually seen these before but this was the first time I’d seen HPV.  Selling a cute plushy STD to a kid just seems weird to me but what do I know.

Next we went to the Freak Lunchbox.  This place is a Halifax fixture that sells a variety of retro toys and candy.  It’s pretty cool and always busy.  I often have to resist the urge to buy over-priced tin robots and Jesus Christ action figures.  I managed to resist buying anything today as well but the temptation was there.  Lastly we popped into an antiques store that we’ve passed by a number of times and have been meaning to check out but it’s always been closed when we were happening by before.  Vanessa found some cool old furniture and books but I was stoked to find a box full of toys.  Most of them were junk but at the bottom of the box, beyond the dinky cars and happy meal toys I found this Platypus figure.  There were plenty of other plastic animals in the box, the type you buy in plastic bags at the dollar store but this was the only guy in the box with articulation.  His legs, tail and head all move making this guy officially an action figure.  Platypuses are a personal favorite of mine so I scooped him up.  Buddy charged me a mere dollar for this delightful little aquatic rascal which I thought was quite fair.  So Vanessa and I spent the rest of the afternoon enjoying a stroll on the boardwalk eating hotdogs which was great but it was all the better because I had a new action figure in my pocket.

I have no idea about the origins of this toy, it could actually be a happy meal toy for all I know but it seems too detailed for that.  It is a great little toy with some nice paint apps and detailed sculpting.  Normally this guy would be an easy winner for the best dollar I’ve spent all week but he’s got stiff competition from the Esso Robot Racers I scored at Giant Robot Comicson Wednesday.  Let’s call it a tie.  6 out of 10.

How could you not love this face?

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on July 15, 2012, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

