SPONSORSHIP NEWS-AUGUST

Hey gang,

I really should be throwing more updates your way as to what’s new at BigBadToyStore.com  but I get so many notifications from them about all of the cool new stuff that they get in stock that I just can’t keep up with it.  Needless to say you should be checking the site regularly.  For this update I’ll just give you a heads up about what most interests me.  Currently you can go to the site and pre-order TWO new varieties of Battle Beasts.

First off there’s the new Battle Beasts figures from Diamond Select Toys which are based on the new comic series by IDW.  I’ve read the first 2 issues and it’s been a fun read so far, you should check it out.  These figures are constructed using DST’s popular mini-mates body design.  I’m personally not a mini-mates fan and I don’t know if I’m sold on using their blocky lego-like bodies as the base for new BB figures.  However this pic proves to me that DST is able to get alot of diversity from that base design.  The human characters look like your standard mini-mates but the beast characters look pretty great.  How cool is that snake guy!?

The second type of new Battle Beasts available for pre-order technically aren’t Battle Beasts, they’re from a new line of Japanese figures called Beast Saga.  The figures are much more reminiscent of the Battle Beasts of old except with dice in their chests instead of heat sensitive rub emblems.   There are a bunch of different figures up for pre-order now that will be released in the coming months.  This military general turtle is one of the cooler looking ones.  I can’t wait to get my hands on these guys.

 

 

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on August 21, 2012, in Sponsorship News. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. They do look pretty cool for an updated figure. But I really like the old versions. I suppose newer kids wouldn’t want the older versions, but: are kids really buying Battle Beasts? Or is it just collectors and old fans?

Leave a Reply

