THE GIRL WITH MANY EYES

TIM BURTON

It’s been a full week since I posted anything so I apologize to all of my regular readers.  I had planned to do a full week of Halloween themed reviews leading up to the big day but I keep getting sidetracked by real life.   I really don’t even have time to write this review now but I felt I had to post something before you all thought I’d died or something.  Today I went to my first ever Convention, Hal-Con and that kept me pretty busy most of the day ( I’ll talk more about that later) and tonight I’m hosting a Halloween party.  Guests are scheduled to arrive in a half hour so this will have to be a quick review.

The figure I’ve picked today isn’t exactly Halloween themed but it’s close enough.  It’s a figurine of The Girl With Many Eyes, a character from Tim Burton’s book “The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy & Other Stories.”  This was a book of poems by the director that was first published in 1997.  Each poem features a bizarre little character that could have only come from the mind of Tim Burton.  Most of the poems are only a few quick verses and some are only a few lines.  I previously reviewed a figurine of Junk Girl from another poem in the book.  Neither of these are favorites of mine so I’m not sure why I tackled them first but whatever, I’ll get to the better ones eventually.  The poem is as follows…

THE GIRL WITH MANY EYES

One day in the park

I had quite a surprise.

I met a girl

who had many eyes.

She was really quite pretty

(and also quite shocking!)

and I noticed she had a mouth

so we ended up talking.

We talked about flowers,

and her poetry classes,

and the problems she’d have

if she ever wore glasses.

It’s great to know a girl

who has so many eyes,

but you really get wet

When she breaks down and cries.

The figure looks very much like the drawing from the book, in that it’s damn ugly.  The stringy hair, the blue skin, the big feet, and oh yeah, the many eyes are all there.  I would not talk to this chick in the park.   2 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on October 27, 2012, in Nightmare Before Christmas. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

