SAILON

BATTLE BEASTS

I told you yesterday that I had 2 new packages arrive in the mail, 1 containing Masters of the Universe figures and 1 containing Beast Saga figures.  I reviewed the Masters of the Universe Rattlor  figure almost immediately upon opening the package and I planned on reviewing one of the Beast Saga figures today.  When taking pictures of my new BS Rhinoceros figure I took a few comparison shots of him displayed next to the old Battle Beast Rhinoceros and that’s when I realized something.  I’ve been so excited about these Beast Saga figures that I’ve basically been ignoring the line that inspired them, Battle Beasts.  So I took a couple solo shots of my old Rhino figure while I had him out anyway and have opted to review him instead.  I’ll get to the Saga version soon enough. 

So this Battle Beast figure is called Sailon.  Why is he called Sailon you ask?  What does that even mean you wonder? Well I have no idea.  I didn’t know what his name was when I was a kid.  As I’ve told you many times, Battle Beast figures never came with names on the packages so I had to make up the names myself and I always took the easy way out by naming them all “Battle Whatever”.  That usually worked out fine except for in a case like this where this was the second Battle Beast Rhinoceros figure.  One of my very first BB figures was a rhinoceros whom I dubbed Battle Rhino but who I found out later was actually named Rocky Rhino.  I assigned Rocky the leadership role of my “good guy” Battle Beasts.  During the first three waves of Battle Beast figures there was very little in the way of animal repetition.  The only example that I can think of is that there were 2 dogs but they were clearly different species.  I named one Battle Dog and the other Battle Bulldog; a quick fix to be sure.  But by the time the forth wave of BB figures hit the shelves we started seeing more repeats.  I find it hard to believe that the sculptors at Takara would have run out of animal ideas after only 3 waves but that seems to be the case because in wave 4 they revisited bats, iguanas, moles, lions and more and even included a dragon.  Now it could be argued that these weren’t repeat animals necessarily but  variant species as was the case with the dogs.  Rocky Rhino after all is clearly one of the more familiar 2 horned African Rhinoceros while Sailon here only has one horn which makes him an Indian Rhino.  I avoided bringing race into the equation by simply calling him Battle Rhinoceros and I made him the brother of Battle Rhino.

Even though Battle/Rocky Rhino was one of my favorite figures I never felt as attached to Sailon.  He always just seemed like the lesser Rhino to me and could never live up to his older brother.  There’s nothing wrong with the figure per say it just lacks the wow factor that the original had.  The head sculpt is actually quite similar other than the missing horn but the armor is rather bland and he lacks the wicked cool spiked ball fist that Rocky had.  This guy does win out in the weapon category though, at least as far as sculpting goes.  I actually prefer the beasts to have bladed weapons but when the forth wave came out their swords had been replaced with guns and each gun was molded to look like its carrier.  It made it much easier to remember which weapon belonged to which beast.  The rhino-gun is indisputably cool.  The figure itself is a middle-of-the-pack Battle Beast for me.

 6 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on November 27, 2012, in Battle Beasts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

