PIT DROID 3

SW-Pit droid rubberSTAR WARS

This is my third Pit Droid figure, though it’s a bit of a cheat because technically it isn’t an action figure.  When the Phantom Menace hit theaters in 1999 an insane amount of merchandise was released to promote it.  I worked at Blockbuster at the time and I remember when the Star Wars merchandise starting rolling in.  At that point in time Blockbuster carried much more than movies, we sold toys and books and clothing and all manner of other merchandise.  In 1999 the store was transformed into a Star Wars shrine.  We had Star Wars crap everywhere.  Most of it I ignored.  Many people don’t seem to understand that about me.  They think that because I like the Star Wars movies and collect the toys that I want every Star Wars related thing under the sun.  People buy me fancy Spider-Man bubble bath and Star Wars pajama bottoms and all kinds of other things.  I appreciate the gesture but it’s really not necessary.  I’m a simple bubble bath kinda guy.SW-Pit droid rubber movie

 

 

One of the items that we had at Blockbuster were small rubber figurines of all the main characters from the movie.  there may have been ships too but I’m not sure.  They were made of soft rubber, were poorly sculpted for the most part and weren’t articulated; they were permanently attached to a black rubber base.  They weren’t to scale with the action figures I was collecting so I had little interest in them.  There was however this brown Pit Droid figure included in the set.  He wasn’t to scale with the other rubber figures but he was perfectly in scale with the 3 3/4″ action figures.  So this is the one piece of Blockbuster Star Wars merchandise that I bought.  I set him up in my Star Wars figure diorama and he blended in perfectly.

He’s not articulated at all but he’s very flexible and so his limbs can be moved around to some degree.  His default pose is permanent though.  He’s a nice shade of brown which differentiates him from the other Pit Droid figure I have.  I like that this guy is shown with tools as these are supposed to be mechanic droids.  He’s a nifty addition to my Star Wars collection and he brings back fond Blockbuster memories.  I really miss that place some times.  4 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on December 9, 2012, in Star Wars and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

