MICHELANGELO

TMNT-Mikie fullTEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES

To achieve my goal of 365 toy reviews in my first year I am currently 9 reviews away and I have 5 days to get them done.  Normally this wouldn’t be a problem but due to recent changes at work I’m not able to write them there so I’m forced to write them on my free time believe it or not.  I had every intention of writing a few reviews tonight as soon as I got home but when I arrived home I was greeted by my superintendent in the lobby.  She reminded me that the property manager was hosting a Christmas party in the common lounge on the top floor of the building tonight from 7 until 9. I accidentally missed this event last year and felt compelled to attend this time.  It would have completely slipped my mind again without the reminder despite the fact that the invitation has been hanging on my fridge for weeks.  So we went up at 7 figuring we’d be out of there by 7:30.  However they had a nice food spread and were serving free wine so we actually stayed until the bitter end, got drunk and made some new friends in the building.  All of which is great accept for the fact that now that I’m all buzzed up on wine I have no desire to write toy reviews.TMNT-Mikie nunchucks

And yet with this looming deadline I know I must so here I sit ready to present you with another action figure review.  The wine got the best of Vanessa and she’s passed out on the sofa so I don’t feel to bad about hiding away in my man cave for a while.  Tonight I’ve opted to talk about the latest Michelangelo figure from Playmates.  The ninja turtles have recently been revived with a new toy line and cartoon.   I’m glad they’re back and actually cool again because I’ve been Christmas shopping for my nephews recently and I much prefer to buy them things that I’m into like Ninja Turtles or Transformers as opposed to Digimon or Bakugan or whatever other crap they thought was cool a couple of years ago.  I have yet to watch the new computer animated TMNT nickelodeon cartoon but my nephews tell me that it’s pretty cool.  I picked up all 4 of the turtles based on the new cartoon when they first hit shelves a few months ago.  I previously reviewed Leonardo.  I think that these new figures are awesome.  Dare I say better than the ones that existed when I was a kid.TMNT-Mikie animated

I always found the ninja turtle figures released in the late 80s to be lacking in personality, they all kinda looked the same.  Each of them had either a full or half sneer on their face and they looked pissed off.  The pissed off sneer especially didn’t work for Michelangelo who was billed as the “party dude”.  It always seemed to me that Mikie should have had a smile on his face.  I don’t know if you can call the expression on this version of Michelangelo’s face a smile necessarily but I think it definitely qualifies as a smirk.  And even though the eyes are pupiless and could be considered blank and cold, I see some personality there, even in the way the eyes are shaped.  This Michelangelo does not look as serious as his 80s predecessor.  on the plus side he doesn’t look like a total goof ball either.  I seem to recall my little brother owning later versions of the character from the original toy line where his tongue was out and he looked like he was having far too much fun.  The Turtles were originally pretty gritty so I don’t like them to be too silly. I think this current Playmates line balances the light-hearted fun aspects of the 80s cartoon perfectly with the grittier edgier look of the original comic book turtles.TMNT-Mikie retro head

This Michelangelo looks fantastic sculpted in a light swampy colored green plastic.  He’s got the lightest and brightest complexion  of all the turtles in the line.  He’s also the shortest by a considerable margin.  I really appreciate the fact that Playmates didn’t just paint different colored bandanas on the same toy and attempt to pass them off as different characters.  They put a lot of effort into differentiating the turtles.  I love the look of this figure from top to bottom.  From the bandages to the textured skin to the smirking face, it’s all good. TMNT-Mikie weapons

For accessories Michelangelo came with his signature nunchucksof course as well as a tree of miscellaneous weapons.  When prototypes of this figure first appeared online they showed him as having actual links of chain in his nunchucks which would have been awesome but understandably more costly.  I’m content with the sculpted nunchucks he came with especially considering the reasonable $10 price tag on these figures.  A great toy. If you’ve got nephews I suggest you buy a few of these bad boys this Christmas. 8 out of 10.TMNT-Mikie headstand

 

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on December 13, 2012, in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I HAVE A NEWER NINJA TURTLE IN BOX MINT CONDITION MY SON HAS ALL THE NEW ONES. I WAS ABLE TO FIND A MISPRINT THE BOX SAYS DONATELLO IS IN IT BUT IT IS CLEARLY RAPHAEL WEAPONS AND ALL WOULD YOU BE INTERESTED IN BUYIN IT FOR YOU COLLECTION YOU CAN EMAIL ME BUT IT WOULD BE EASIER TO CALL MY HOME NUMBER IT IS xxxxxxx. IF NOT ITS OK I WILL HOLD ON TO IT IN TWENTY YEARS IT WILL BE WORTH SOME JACK ITS FOR SALE AND I HAVE FIVE OTHER COLLECTORS IM SELLING TO THE HIGHEST BIDDER THE BID IS AT 62.46 AS OF THIS MOMENT STILL NOT SURE IF I WANT TO SELL IT BUT IF I COULD GET 100 BUCKS ITS SOLD

  2. Late to the party…but you seem to have a lot of TMNT knowledge. I have two of the 4″ Michelangelo figures from this series. They have different facial expressions. One is open mouthed. The other is closed. In my small amount of research, I’ve only come across the closed mouth version. Did they run a couple different series of these? Is this a flaw, or rare variation? I’ve always been curious about this. If you know, it’d be interesting to find out how/why. Thanks for your time.

    DJ

Leave a Reply

