HORNY TOAD

BB-Frog fullBATTLE BEASTS

This here is Horny Toad.  He was released as part of the first series of Battle Beasts in 1987.  He came packaged with Sledgehammer Elephant.  I remember my first Battle Beast figures very clearly.  I got the Rhino, Ram, Fox, and Bat in my Easter Basket one year.  My little brother Brian got the Bear and Buffalo.  He wasn’t as taken with the figures as I was so he gave his to me a short time later.  Those first six figures hold a special place in my heart.  After that, the acquisition of the other 80some Beasts is kind of a blur. They came  by way of grading presents, birthdays and trades with friends. Oddly enough I don’t recall ever getting Battle Beasts for Christmas.  So while I don’t remember specific details of how or when I acquired Horny, I do know that he was one of the first figures I got after that initial Easter haul.

I sound like a broken record when I say this in every Battle Beast review, but back in the day these toys did not come with names on their packaging.  I didn’t know what any of the character’s official names were until years later.  In this case maybe it’s for the best.  At the time I named each figure  “Battle whatever”; this was Battle Frog.  My experience has always been that frogs are green and toads are brown.  It’s actually pretty disappointing that Takara never produced a brown toad Battle Beast as he would have been an obvious foe for this guy. BB-frog art

Since each Battle Beast came as a clean slate with no pre-conceived back story I was not only free to name them whatever I wanted but also to choose their allegiances and personalities.  With each 2-pack of figures I delegated one figure a good guy and one a bad guy.  Battle Frog was a good guy probably because his package mate was purple with black armor (obvious bad guy colors).  Frog was one of the best warriors on my good team.  He was stern, serious, and tough.  He was also very agile and had super leaping abilities. bb-Frog carded

I think this figure is straight up awesome; one of the best Battle Beasts ever.  First off the sculpt is very detailed with lots of cool and unique features.  The big web feet are great, and the face has a bunch of sculpted little warts.  The weapon hand isn’t as elaborate as others in the line but the fact that it’s just a plain pointy lance seems almost more brutal.  I can imagine him leaping into a crowd on the battlefield and impaling his enemies.  Death from Above.  The ear attachments and shoulder spikes add even more flavor to an already cool figure. BB-Frog back

The second thing this figure has going for it is the color.  The bright green, dark red, and  mustard yellow work great together.  It’s amazing how the designers were able to give so many of these tiny figures a unique look when considering the limited color palette and paint aps they had available.  The colors choices used here really show off the detail in the sculpt.  Battle Frog looks like no other beast in the collection.   His oddly shaped, fancy-pants, bladed weapon is pretty cool too. BB-Frog side

 

 

 

Not too long ago I watched a Japanese Transformers cartoon that featured the Battle Beasts (they’re a spin-off if you didn’t know).  I was surprised to see Battle Frog portrayed not only as a bad guy but as an army of bad guys.  A bunch of identical frogs with yellow spike hands were leaping into battle against the Autobots.  It’s funny because it makes me think of how differently I may have viewed these toys had they starred in their own cartoon series when I was a kid.  With Joes I always imagined my viper and crimson guard figures to be representative of a squad of those trooper types, so no matter how many crimson guards got thrown into the volcano I could keep on re-using that figure, where as if Zartan fell into the volcano then he was just dead.  When it came to my Battle Beasts I pictured each and every one of them as individuals.  It seems bizarre to imagine any of them as mere troop builders.  Discovering that the beasts all had real names was revelation enough for me that I don’t think I would want to know much more of their backstory even if it exists out there somewhere.  I quite like the Battle Beast Universe that I created on my own.  8 out of 10.bb-frog toon

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on June 21, 2013, in Battle Beasts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. If I had this figure when I was a kid he would have made an awesome made up MOTU character for me. An ancient race of Frog Warriors destroyed by Mer-Man and Beast Man. One lone Frog named “Ol Worts” battling a gurilla war against his enemies. Something like that. Now I want to go spread all my toys on the floor and have a big battle. Can you come play?? My mom will make grilled cheese for us.

    • That sounds like a pretty good time actually. At first i was thinking two grown men who’ve never met sitting on the floor playing with a bucket of toys would be weird but then you threw in the grilled cheese and I was sold.

  2. “horny” tee hee giggle

    lol

  3. There was a toy store in town when I was in college called “the Toy Consortium.” It was amazing – filled with bins of loose, and cheap, toys. Anytime you visited, you’d find (nearly) grown men sitting on the floor surrounded by toys. Sadly it no longer stands, maybe grilled cheese could’ve saved it.

    I collected the Battle Beasts growing up, and never knew they were Transformers related.

    • Grilled cheese probably would have helped.

      I didn’t know about the Transformers connection when I was a kid either but I found out about it in the early days of the internet. They appeared in the background of a couple of Dreamwave produced Transformers comics which was cool to see. I’d love to see the two properties combined in someway in the future but it seems unlikely.

Leave a Reply

