WEB-SLINGING SPIDER

BB-Spider fullBATTLE BEASTS

This here is Web-Slinging Spider or, as I knew him growing up, Battle Spider. This is one of my favorite Battle Beast figures; top five for sure.  And that’s saying a lot because I love so many of the figures from this line.  But the reason I love this figure so much isn’t just because he’s cool looking, it’s because of the personality I infused him with.

I don’t recall where or when I got this figure exactly but it was early on in my BB collecting days.  He was a wave 1 figure; released in 1986/87.  I got him second hand, I know that much because I don’t have his original weapon and I was usually pretty good about holding onto my accessories and remembering which weapon belonged to whom.BB-Spider art  Had I got this guy brand new he would have come with the large double pronged axe shown in the card art.

When I was a kid I loved getting new action figures, whether it was a Joe, a Transformer, or a Battle Beast, and then integrating them into my established team.  I pretty much always knew right away whether a new addition would become a star or a supporting character in my toy universe.  Somebody like Shockwave for example was a late addition to my Joe roster, not showing up until 1988, but he quickly became the hero of all my battles; always the last man standing.  When it came to Battle Spider I did not spot his star quality right away.  I liked him, but he was no more a stand out then say Battle Crab or Battle Snake.BB-Spider face

It was actually a pretty simple thing that made me take special notice of this character.  Because he was lacking his own weapon I turned to my pile of spares.  I tended to arm my defenceless Battle Beast with whatever I had lying around that would pass as a weapon.  I remember that Battle Giraffe always wielded Jabba the Hutt’s pipe on the battle field. BB-Spider back

I happened to have a duplicate of Battle Snake’s spear but the bottom of it had snapped off.  I made the most of my broken weapon by using it to arm two separate beasts.  I gave the long part of the spear to Battle Rabbit and Battle Spider ended up with the stubby broken end.  The small blade barely poked out of his hand.  It looked like a concealed prison shiv. I started building a whole personality around that little broken blade.  Spider became a master of close combat fighting.  He was Battle Ram’s stealth assassin. He shot up the ranks of my bad guy team so quickly that he soon developed a rivalry with my main good guy, Sly Fox.  Fox already had a rivalry with Battle Bat, but where Bat was purely evil, Spider was more of an honorable villain.  Spider’s relationship with Fox was more akin to that of Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow.  I imagined Battle Spider to be very intelligent, one-step ahead of everyone else, and he fought for Ram only to further his own agenda. BB-Spider knife

The figure itself is hella cool.  The armour is colored a sort of matte purple and has little in the way of sculpted detail.  He’s got one fist, with which he holds his blade, and one open hand.  I always imagined him shooting webbing from his open hand like Spider-Man.  The face sculpt is deadly and quite frightening.  He’s got large mandibles, multiple eyes of varying sizes and then some crazy thing in his mouth.  I never quite knew what to make of that mechanical thing on his face but I imagined it as sort of a spy computer that fed him information.  It reminds me of the cycloptic red eye found on another one of my favorite purple toys from the 80s.  I absolutely love the look of the segmented arms that protrude from his shoulders.  All in all this is a great design, with great color choices.  Totally kick ass.  10 out of 10.BB-Spider lightBB-Spider capture

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on August 26, 2013, in Battle Beasts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’ve got two of this guy…part of my recent ‘get into Battle Beasts’ thing I did a year or two ago…both complete. If you’re interested I can swop him with you for a complete Battle Beast you may have a duplicate of? Let me know Mike… 🙂

    Are you sure thats some sort of mechanical thing in his mouth? I thought it was simply his red mouth wide open…I reckon its to shoot out lots of corrosive web goo at his enemies anyhow…

    • I’m not sure that it’s something mechanical but that’s how I always saw it. The thought of him with a big gaping mouth is kind of disturbing.

      And I appreciate the offer but I have no real need for a duplicate and I’m fine with his half-weapon, it’s become part of his appeal.

  2. P.S. his actual weapons called a ‘Death Binder’, I suppose it adds credence to the ‘shoots acidic webbing from his mouth’ and then ‘binds’ his prey up with his weapon…Also, apparently theres a variant: darker lavender armour but I reckon over time some of these critters have faded and got dirty over the years hence the colour variations…

    • Death Binder sounds pretty cool. I’m not too interested in lavender versions but I do occasionally seek out the solid colored Greek version. I only have my two team leaders, Rhino and Ram, in solid Greek but I’d like to get a few other favorites eventually.

Leave a Reply

