SAGA PIRANHA (PIRAZON)

BS-Piranha fullBEAST SAGA

Way back in November I reviewed Saga Shark and not too long ago I reviewed Saga Fish.  Well today I’m gonna take a look at the third and final figure that was included in the Kingdom of Sea 3-pack.  I’m trusting other websites that this guy’s name is Pirazon but I’m gonna stick to calling him Saga Piranha for the time being.

When I was a kid I had a Battle Beast figure that was a white fish with pink armor whom I named Battle Piranha.  He was one of Battle Ram’s most vicious enforcers with a real sadistic streak.  I later acquired two more of that same figure.  I believe they came in a mixed bag of loose Battle Beasts that I bought at my childhood comic shop, The Cardboard Jungle.  I usually had no use for doubles of figure but in the case of Battle Beasts I integrated them into my ongoing storyline as best I could.  The other two Piranha figures became Battle Piranha’s nameless goons that he lead separately from his association with Battle Ram, kinda like how Zartan lead his own team of Dreadnoks separate from his ties to Cobra. The Piranha gang was a group best avoided by by good buys beasts as they were a nasty bunch. BS-Piranha card

As it turns out Battle Piranha and his thugs weren’t even piranhas.  When I discovered the Battle Beasts actual names in my teens with the help of a new invention called the internet I learned that the character’s official name was Killer Carp.  I gotta say that I was a little disappointed by this revelation.  I don’t know much about Carp but the mention of them hardly instills fear in me.  He might as well have been a trout.BS-Piranha back

Well with this Beast Saga figure there’s little doubt as to his species.  The name “pirazon” aside, he just looks like a piranha.  The sculpting on this figure is awesome and downright creepy.  The Battle Beast carp figure always looked pretty evil to me with his jagged toothy grin but he’s got nothing on this guy.  This Beast Saga figure is much scarier looking than it’s predecessor.  I know it might seem silly to refer to a 2 inch figure as scary but imagine stumbling across a full-sized version of this fish-man in some murky waters somewhere; yikes. BS-Piranha duo

Saga Piranha is sculpted with an open mouth which I believe is a first in the Battle Beast/Beast Saga line.  He’s got beady little red eyes on each side of his head and some nice scales on his skin.  One of the most impressive aspects of this figure is the number of paint applications.  There’s green, yellow, purple, gray, orange, red, and even a gradient effect painted onto the fins of his armor. The varied colored palette adds to the realistic look of the figure though I do wish they colored the inside of his mouth either black or pink.

The armor is pretty cool in that it isn’t overly complicated but has some nice fin details.   He has fins on his shoulders, forearms,  tail, and even on the back of his feet.BS-Piranha side

I see this guy being an absolute psychopath; a soldier that Battle Shark can barely keep in line.  Saga Piranha would rarely speak, mostly just in garbled growls.  I imagine that he would take over the leadership role of the piranha gang.  This guy would be so vicious and unstable that even Battle Piranha wouldn’t dare challenge him for the leadership role.  Instead, Battle Piranha would humbly fall in line and become one of Saga Piranha’s interchangeable henchmen.

This is a very cool little figure and one of the reasons why I was so excited about this new toy line when it came out last year.  The entire aquatic 3-pack was a win. 8 out of 10.BS-Piranha group

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on September 8, 2013, in Battle Beasts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice to see you’re back from your blog hiatus.

Leave a Reply

