METROPLEX (2013)

TF-Metroplex fullTRANSFORMERS

When Doug and I were kids we were pretty spoiled.  We had tons of wrestling figures, Star Wars figures, Masters of the Universe figures, G.I. Joe figures and vehicles, plus a healthy collection of Transformers. Not to mention the loads of miscellaneous toys we had lying around.  I never felt deprived of anything that I truly wanted.  However that doesn’t mean we had absolutely everything.  We were spoiled but not ridiculously so.  We were only 2 of 5 kids after all, in a single income family.  We never had the biggest Joe play sets such as the air craft carrier or the space shuttle and most of our Transformers collection was comprised of small to medium figures.  We had very few of the premium larger Transformers.  The only reason Doug lucked into owning an Omega Supreme was because some idiot kid gave it to him in exchange for a monkey fight on the school monkey bars.  Omega Supreme truly was the Supreme Transformer in our collection back then. TF-Metroplex box

In 1985 he was the largest Transformer to be released.  He transformed into a rocket base with a circular track and a tank which was pretty damn impressive considering his contemporaries mostly turned into dinky cars and airplanes.  However, Omega didn’t reign supreme in the world of Transformers for very long.  Hasbro quickly followed him up with Metroplex and Trypticon in 1986, a couple of robots who transformed into cities!  In the cartoon their city modes were able to house the fill Autobot and Decepticon armies.  Entire battles could be played out in the confines of their city limits.  The toys, while big and impressive, failed to live up to those lofty claims of transforming into a “city”.   The toy was barely a foot tall, not much bigger than Optimus Prime who turned into a truck.  After Metroplex came Fortress Maximus in 1987, an even larger Autobot headquarters.

1987 Metroplex

1987 Metroplex

Doug and I never owned any of those figures though and so Omega Supreme remained the crown jewel of our childhood Transformers collection until that fateful day when we sold them all at a yard sale.  I still shudder just thinking about it.

My modern Transformers collection has much more diversity in the size and shape of the figures than my childhood collection had.  I still have plenty of small ones but the majority of them are the 6” medium scale bots.  I have quite a few what I would consider large (7-8″)  and then I have a couple of combiners made up of smaller toys which stand around 11″.  The most impressive Transformers in my collection are the modern Omega Supreme and Unicron who are around 14″.  Both of them are taller than any Transformers we owned as kids, including Doug’s monkey bar Omega Supreme. TF-Metroplex face

A few months back, at the annual Toy Fair in New York, Hasbro revealed that they’d be releasing a modern version of Metroplex.  This new version was to be 2 feet tall, the largest Transformer toy ever released.  I was certain that it would cost a fortune and that I’d never own one so I didn’t give it much thought.  But when websites started offering pre-orders on the figure a short time later it was priced at just a little more than $100 which I thought was quite reasonable.  However I knew I’d get screwed on the shipping fees on such a large item so I resisted pre-ordering it. TF-Metroplex tank

 

I did not expect the thing to land at my local Toys R Us.  My friend Steve found one first and posted a picture of it on facebook, that’s how I knew they had it.  The next day I sent Vanessa in to look and see how many they had since she was out shopping with her mom anyway.  She called to tell me that they only had one left and that it was priced at $139.99.  After taxes the damn thing would cost me $160 but with only one left I couldn’t let her leave it behind; I may have never found one again.  I gave her the green light and now this 2 foot tall monstrosity of a toy is chilling out in my man-cave.

This really is a behemoth of a toy.  It towers over Omega Supreme and Unicron.  I actually have nowhere to put it.  Until I figure out where to display him, Metroplex is just going to keep standing by the door like a bouncer.  I’ll probably end up having to display him sitting down.  This is what I had to do with my 2 foot Granamyr figure. TF-Metroplex compare

 

 

It’s hard for me to provide an in depth review of this figure because I haven’t spent much time with it.  When I review other figures they sit on my desk while I write and I pick them up and fiddle with them.  This toy is almost too big to handle.  He was in robot mode in the box which was fine with me because I hate transforming these things.  My Metroplex will likely never see his city or vehicle modes.  Only the pleading of my nephews could maybe make me consider taking on such a task. TF-Metroplex alt modes

 

 

 

While I can’t say much about his alt modes I can say that the robot mode is excellent.  It looks exactly how I think Metroplex should look.  He’s a nice crisp white with black highlights.  One of the most recognizable features from the original were the two big black blocks on his chest and they are present here.   His head is great with fully sculpted features and a translucent red visor over his eyes.  He has those red gun-ear things which were another one of his trademark features.  He also has a very large shoulder mounted cannon which can also be held in his hand.  All of the fingers on his hands are articulated separately which is always cool.  He has a surprising amount of movement and posability for a toy as big as he is.TF-Metroplex back

He might look a little bland in these pictures and that’s partly because I haven’t yet applied the sheet of stickers he came with.  It looks like there’s about 50 stickers to apply.  he came packaged with a small black car named Scamper which is a decent little Transformer in it’s own right.  I plan to review him separately in the future but he definitely adds some value to this set.

While I was taking these pictures I realized that scale-wise this Metroplex actually works pretty well with the Kre-O Transformers I’ve been accumulating.  I neat little coincidence that I would appreciate if I were a kid.  While I don’t have a whole lot of sentimental value for Metroplex as a character, this toy is a great looking representation of him and an impressive piece of work.  10 out of 10.TF-Metroplex kreo

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on October 2, 2013, in Transformers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow that’s big!! You’ll have to throw out some of your other toys to make him fit.

  2. It really looks perfect with the Kre-O robots on top.

    I do find it amusing that he towers over Unicron. Isn’t Unicron the robot that transforms into a planet? A planet that’s now the scale equivalent of a meteor? Or maybe Pluto, the on-and-off again planet?

Leave a Reply

