BATMAN 60s (POP!)

POP-Batman 60s fullDC COMICS : POP!

In my last review I talked about the Iron Spider-Man doll gifted to me by my good buddy Andrew.  Today I’ll be reviewing the birthday gift I received from my brother Doug.  My big bro got me a vinyl Pop! figurine of Batman and his Batmobile.

I was reluctant to embrace these Pop! figures at first but once they proved themselves to be more than just another short-lived cutesy flash-in-the-pan, a la Mighty Muggs or Blammoids, I accepted them whole heartedly.  My collection is now 11 strong and growing.

The diversity of the properties keeps this line fresh month after month.  Just this week Strange Adventures (my local comic shop) stocked Pop! figures based on the classic Planet of the Apes films and the Goonies. I’m sure I’ll be adding some of them to my collection soon. Pop-Batman 60s box

The first Pop! figure I ever acquired was Batman.  I’m not even a BIG Batman fan, at least not when compared to other heroes like Spider-Man or Silver Surfer ( Neither of which do I have in Pop! form) but for whatever reason that cute little Batman just really appealed to me.  He’s been protecting my work desk from crime for a couple of years now, along with fellow Justice Leaguers Flash and Green Arrow.

I have a sizable list of Pop! figures that I’d like to own.  Vanessa whittled my list down by two by getting me Spikor and the Governor for my birthday.  Had Doug asked me which Pop! figure I’d like next I probably would’ve told him to get me one of the ninja turtles or Robo-Cop.  Another Batman wasn’t exactly high on my list.

Pop-Batman 60s in carBut I’m very glad that Doug didn’t ask me.  I can, and will, eventually buy myself those other figures.  But I never would’ve bought this Batman and Batmobile for myself.  Not only because I already have a Batman figure but also because of the nearly $40 price tag.  But this figure is rad and I would’ve been missing out.

The Batman I got years ago was black and gray, based on his comic book look.  The black and gray version is probably my favorite Batman costume and it seems the best default look for the character in my opinion.  This new one is based on the live action TV series from the 60s starring Adam West.  Now while I wouldn’t want Batman to wear this costume in the comics necessarily it’s still an iconic costume and it looks fantastic in Pop! form.Pop-Batman 60s car front

At first I assumed this was the exact same mold as my other Batman, only painted differently, but once I got them side by side I realized that this was a completely new sculpt.  The utility belts are different, the capes are different lengths, and the 60s one has shorter ears.

The paint job on this Batman is what really elevates it above and beyond my other figure.  The classic blue and gray compliment each other nicely.  The black face circle is present,  and just like on my recently reviewed bendy Batman, it allows for some epic painted mask eyebrows.  The lighter blue used for the brows and around the nose really make his features, for lack of a better word, pop.  His utility belt is bright yellow with a gold buckle. Funko didn’t have to go that extra mile to have a gold buckle but they did and it’s appreciated.

Pop-Batman 60s compareThen there’s the Batmobile.  This thing looks awesome and is my first ever Batmobile toy. And when it comes to Batmobiles there’s no beating the 1960s TV version.  This thing looks great on my work desk and everyone stops to admire it.  It’s sculpted in a glossy black so it’s shimmery and reflective as though Robin just waxed it.  There’s a surprising amount of sculpted detail on this thing.  There’s the bat symbol hubcaps, the clear double windshields, the tail fins, the exhaust pipes, and even a steering wheel.  I love it.  My only gripe would be that the wheels don’t turn.  However, it’s not like I was gonna go driving it around on the floor anyway.  Since it just sits on the shelf above my desk at work as a display piece the static wheels are probably good thing as this way I don’t have to worry about it rolling off and smashing into a dozen pieces. Pop-Batman 60s car side

Another great present from Doug.  10 out of 10.  And, sidenote, it’s Dougie’s birthday today.  I’m on my way to meet him for lunch and give him his birthday present.  Hopefully he likes his as much as I like mine.

Pop-Batman 60s backPop-Batman 60s car back

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on February 1, 2014, in DC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I almost want one of these for myself now. That Batmobile looks pretty sweet out of package

Leave a Reply

