TALLGEESE

Gund-Tallgeese fullMOBILE SUIT GUNDAM WING

I know I sound like a broken record every time I review one of these Gundam toys but I’ll say it again, I don’t have a whole lot to say about them. Gundam is a property that has been around for decades in Japan but has never really caught on in North America. I’ve never seen an episode of the show. I did buy a DVD copy of the Gundam movie “Endless Waltz” about 15 years ago, around the same time I started buying these toys, but I found it boring and traded it in to Blockbuster. Unlike most of the things I collect (G.I. Joe, He-Man, Transformers, Star Wars) which are from my childhood, I have no connection to the Gundam mythology. Gund-Tallgeese face

Mind you, one of my all-time favorite toy lines is Battle Beasts and I knew nothing about their backstory either. The difference being I collected Battle Beasts as a kid and I developed my own stories by playing with them all the time. Gundam figures didn’t come out in the North American mass market until I was in my late teens /early twenties so I never played with them. They were only ever display pieces to me.Gund Tallgeese side

Having said that, the Gundam figures by Bandai make for awesome display pieces. I was also buying a lot of McFarlane figures back in those days which were also great display pieces. The big difference between the two is that the Gundams were also amazing toys. McFarlane figures were practically statues and were marketed towards old guys who had no interest in playing with them  where as Gundam was aimed at kids. The show had begun airing here in the afternoons but I don’t think it ever really caught with kids in a big way.  I find that strange because I would have LOVED Gundam figures when I was a kid. They’e brightly colored, super articulated, have great weapons, and look awesome. Gund-Tallgeese art

For a couple of years I was collecting them all. Every time they changed up a character even slightly I would go out and buy the latest incarnation. I had so many favorites that it’s tough to choose my absolute favorite, though I was always drawn to Heavy Arms. It’s much easier however to pick my least favorite, and that was this guy, Tallgeese. First off, his name is pretty weak. How can he hope to win kids over with a name like Tallgeese when he’s on a peg next to a toy named Deathscythe Hell. One name conjures up images of the grim reaper and the pits of hades and the other one conjures up images of a lanky water fowl. Gund-Tallgeese back

Name aside, the figure’s not that bad, he just had the misfortune of being surrounded by so many cooler figures. Most of the other Gundams looked pretty similar to one another so I give Tallgeese points for at least looking original. There are no other Gundams that look like him, other than later versions of Tallgeese himself. But unfortunately it’s not a great look for a giant robot. He’s kind of like Gypsy Danger from Pacific Rim in that regard: bad name, effeminate design.

Let me stop right there for a moment. I wrote the first half of this review at work based on my memories of the figure.  It is true that he was always my least favorite Gundam toy.  However, I dug out my Gunadam figures to take pictures for this review and I gained a whole new appreciation for Tallgeese.  I’m not sure why I wasn’t keen on him for all those years. I actually think he’s pretty awesome now.  Sure he has the plumed-helmet-style head but it looks much better than I remembered it.  And I recalled his legs being really thin, hence my effeminate comment, but I don’t see that now. Maybe it was his dual pink light sabers, oops, I mean beam sabers that had me remembering him as a tad girly.Gund-Tallgeese arty

This guy is stocked up well with a shield, 2 beam sabers, a huge shoulder mounted rifle, and booster rockets on his back.  I actually think he might’ve come with even more accessories but I can’t recall for certain.  This figure looks great, is molded in soft durable plastic, has plenty of articulation, and is able to hold most, if not all, of his gear at once.  I was all set to give Tallgeese a 5 but he has won me over, 8 out of 10.

Tallgeese I and II

Tallgeese I and II

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on April 28, 2014, in Gundam and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It has unusually long legs, which makes its legs look feminine. You can see it best on the blue version in the last picture.

Leave a Reply

