ICKY IGUANA

BB-Icky iguana fullBATTLE BEASTS

This is Icky Iguana from the second series of Battle Beasts.  Icky is a pretty dumb name so I’m glad that I didn’t know that was his name when I was a kid.  To me he was,  and forever will be, Battle Iguana.  This guy is probably one of my top 10 favorite Battle Beast figures and definitely in my top 3 from series 2.  How could you not love this figure?  He’s just so cool .

Battle Iguana has some very nice sculpting with scales all over his body, spikes down his back, and a little “beard” under his chin.  It’s a fairly realistic looking sculpt.  His armor is nice but nothing flashy.  There are lots of little details like vents and rivets but they’re all pretty subtle. The only embellishment to the armor are some small spikes along the shoulders.BB-Icky Iguana art

He’s bright yellow in color, like a highlighter marker.  I’m not sure why Takara didn’t go with green.  Perhaps to differentiate him from the green frog and snake from series 1.  I actually like the yellow but it would have been pretty rad if Battle Beasts had been available in different colors schemes.  I can only imagine how cool this figure would have looked sculpted in green and black or white and red.  As it is, Takara went with the flashy yellow for the skin and  orange for Icky’s armor.  There are 3 little red highlights on the chest plate which match his eye color.

Icky originally came packaged with a jagged sword weapon and Armored Armadillo was his pack mate. I acquired  a few of my Battle Beasts through trades with friends so I don’t have Icky’s original weapon.  Instead I have him displayed with a 2-pronged axe blade.  That weapon actually came packaged with the other lizard released in series 2, Delta Chameleon. For whatever reason Takara opted to give the chameleon the exact same neon yellow skin tone as the iguana.  I’m not sure if the goal was to make them appear like a cohesive unit or maybe no thought went into it at all.  I always considered the two of them best friends or partners-in-crime .  I had an extra copy of Delta’s weapon laying around for some reason so that’s the one I assigned to Icky to link them together even further.BB-Icky Iguana side

When I played with my Battle Beasts as a kid, both Icky and Delta were members of my bad guy team led by Battle Ram. They stuck together pretty tightly and were effective warriors.  However I never really saw either of them as really “bad”.  It’s not like they were going around slaughtering the good guys out of sheer joy; they were just soldiers doing their job.BB-Icky Iguana art 2

I wish Takara’s Beast Saga line had lasted long enough to give us an updated version of an Iguana or a Chameleon, or any lizard for that matter.  Reptiles were not very well represented in that line, the crocodile being the only one.

This is a fantastic figure from a seriously under appreciated toy line.  10 out of 10.BB-Icy Iguana team

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on May 3, 2014, in Battle Beasts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This guy was one of my favorites too. He was always my leader of the reptile contingent.

    • Nice. Is that how you broke up your teams? I feel the mammals might’ve had an advantage numbers wise.

      • I tend to be a taxonomy junkie and that really manifested when I was a kid with the Battle Beasts. I did not have a single team but multiple factions. The aquatic faction was my favorite, followed by the reptiles (which included the frog). As far as mammals went, you are right, they were many but I broke them up between carnivores and herbivores. I never had set relationships between factions, so different groups could team up at different times. Fun stuff!

      • That actually sounds pretty cool. I had a good team and a bad team. Every 2-pack had to be split, one good, one bad, so that the teams were always even. This lead to some “good looking” animals being bad guys and vice versa.

Leave a Reply

