BOSS FIGHT STUDIOS KICKSTARTER

bfs_kickstarter_longFor this post I won’t be reviewing any of my action figures but plugging a line of new action figures that I think you should take a look at.  Boss Fight Studio is an independent design studio for toys and collectables.  I became familiar with them through the work they’ve done for the G.I. Joe Collector’s Club but they’ve also worked on brands such as Transformers, Star Wars, and Marvel.  I’m not sure what pieces they worked on in regards to those other brands but the work they’ve done on G.I. Joe has been fantastic.  The Club does a good job of reuses existing pieces to create figures for their subscription service and convention sets but it’s the newly sculpted pieces by the gang at BFS that elevate the figures to must-haves.11_Crimson_Guard_Immortal1

BFS recently teamed up with Marauder Inc. to create a new line of Joe compatible military figures.  Marauder has been around a long time creating realistic weapons and accessories for Joe figures but with the help of BFS they launched their first toy line: Marauder Task Force Gaming Figures.  Marauder funded the their new toy line through a Kickstarter campaign.  If you’re not familiar with Kickstarter here’s a quick run down of what I know, but I am by no means an expert.  Basically, if you have an idea that needs funding you start a Kickstarter campaign page, stating the set amount of funds you need to finance the project, and then you promote the heck out of it in an attempt to get sponsors.  Sponsors contribute money in hopes of reaching the goal.  If the goal is reached the project goes forward and sponsors receive anything from good karma to physical product, to one-of-a kind extras based on how much money they donated.  I know the recent Veronica Mars movie was funded this way and one of the creators of Tank Girl recently funded a new hard cover TG book via Kickstarter.47097c823feacde1a6f0f4440c75bc21_large

The military figures offered by Marauder were awesome so I couldn’t help but back the project.  Marauder reached their goal and now I’m just waiting for the figures to be produced and shipped to me (estimated for December).  In hindsight I should have told you about that project when the campaign was still on but fear not, the figures will be available for sale to everyone next year.  https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1732159183/marauder-task-force-gaming-figures?ref=email839161cea3892b9f658e628e426a9333_large

Well as of the beginning of June BFS has launched their very own Kickstarter campaign to finance their own line of figures called Vitruvian H.A.C.K.S. and I wanted to let you in on it before the campaign closes on July 11. This initial series of HACKS (highly articulated character kit systems) consist of Spartans and Gorgons.  It’s a little far removed from G.I. Joe and the other brands I collect but it looks to be an amazing set of figures.  The body construction is similar to that of modern Joes but much more posable and customizable.  The first wave of figures is made up of a Spartan Warrior, Medusa, a stone Spartan, and a Gorgon soldier.  BFS has already surpassed their initial funding goal of $75,000 so those 4 figures are guaranteed to be produced.  However, as more people back the project new “stretch goals” get unlocked and more figures get added to the assortment. There’s the possibility of 39 figures being produced if they reach the final stretch goal of $325,000.

So I encourage you to take a look at the project and if you like what you see then show your support and back it.  I have zero affiliation with BFS but I love their work and I’d like to see as many figures produced as possible. https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/813878470/boss-fight-studios-vitruvian-hacks-action-figures447a2565ff24275b8ca4e4f82d197f08_large

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on June 26, 2014, in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You said the Marauder task Force figures will be available to everyone next year. Which year are these figures going to be available to the public, 2015 or 2016?

    • The kickstarter figures were supposed to ship out in December but due to problems at the factory we still don’t have them. They are expected to ship out in the summer but i don’t know any more than that. The figures should be available to everyone shortly after that.

Leave a Reply

