FRENZIED FLAMINGO

BB-Flamingo fullBATTLE BEASTS

This here is Frenzied Flamingo. He was released as part of the third series of Battle Beasts(the final series before they transitioned into Laser Beasts). As a kid I managed to collect nearly all of series 1 and 2 in their entirety but the third series was more elusive. I’m not sure if it was because fewer stores were stocking them as the line’s popularity cooled or if it was the fact that they were only available in 8 packs, instead of the usual 2-packs, thus making them more expensive for my folks to buy for me.  Whatever the reason, I only got a few figures from the third wave. It was frustrating because I was definitely still interested in the line at the time. I scooped up all of the Laser Beast 2-packs when they came out a year or so later.BB-Flamingo box

Throughout my teens and 20s I slowly filled in the series 3 holes in my collection by way of trades, flea markets and ebay. Frenzied Flamingo was one of those late additions to my BB collection.  I finally completed my Battle Beast collection a couple years ago with the purchase of Pugnacious Penguin. I developed a bond with almost every toy I played with as a kid, like Andy and Woody from the Toy Story movies, but toys I acquired as an adult, no matter how cool they are, lack that personal connection.

BB-Flamingo back

Since I didn’t get Flamingo here until long after I had outgrown playing with my toys I don’t have any connection to him. I’m glad I got him, as I needed him to complete my collection, but that’s where our relationship ends. I can’t look at Sly Fox or Rocky Rhino without wishing I was 8 years old again playing with them in my backyard. I look at Frenzied Flamingo and feel no such thing.BB-Flamingo face

But even if I owned this figure when I was a kid I don’t think he’d hold any nostalgic power over me today. I’m just not a big fan of this toy. Takara managed to make some really cool anthropomorphic warriors out of some unlikely candidates like a seahorse and a duck but I feel they missed the mark with Frenzied. Flamingos are pretty dorky birds in real life and this figure is dorky too. Firstly, there’s the color. Now, I know there’s nothing he can do about being pink, he’s a flamingo, but being pink is not his biggest color crime. I think the blue and red armor on this figure is just ugly. With many Battle Beasts the armor was a painted a complimentary color to the skin tone to create a visually appealing figure. I’m not sure what color would’ve worked better in this case I just know I don’t like this combination.BB-Flamingo side

The sculpt on this guy isn’t great either. It’s alright, he’s identifiable as a flamingo at least, but I think they could’ve done a lot better. Flamingos have very recognizably shaped beaks and this figure doesn’t have it.  Instead of a angular downturned beak this guy has a big roundish one that looks like a big pink nose. I think some black and white paint on the beak would have done wonders for this figure but unfortunately paint apps were minimal with this line. He’s got long flamingo legs which is good but they’re way too thick, especially near the top.  It almost looks like they sculpted skinny legs but then just left a bunch of excess pink plastic around them to support the weight.  Plus he’s wearing a dorky Lobot headpiece.  There’s some nice sculpting in the wings and feet but it’s not enough to save this figure.

This figure is definitely one of the weaker links in what is a mostly strong toy line. 5 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on September 5, 2014, in Battle Beasts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Your BB reviews have quickly become my favorites. They always seem trigger that one emotion I share from the memories of my 10 year old self..its only a glimmer of feeling but its something ill never forget. Did you ever get into M.U.S.C.L.E.S? Dont think ive missed any reviews of yours so you couldnt have..

    • I do love me some Battle Beasts. I don’t necessarily love them more than other properties like G.I. Joe and He-Man but because I don’t know anyone else in real life or online who really cares about them the way I do (they don’t have loads of fan sites devoted to them like those others) so they feel more like “mine” if you know what I mean.
      I did collect MUSCLES and in fact i still have most of them. Though I did screw some of them up by trying to color them with markers. I think I’ve done 2 group reviews of Muscle figures. Do a search or find them on the miscellaneous page.

Leave a Reply

