NOSECONE (1987)

TF-Nosecone fullTRANSFORMERS: GENERATION 1

Back in June a gentleman named Eric came across my blog and asked if I would like to take some action figures off his hands.  I gladly accepted so Eric sent me a massive box full of G.I. Joes, Transformers, and Ninja Turtles.  You can read all about it here.

Out of that massive pile of toys I have thus far only reviewed one, Dusty version 2. I figured it was time to take a look at another one.  I’d hate for Eric to think I didn’t appreciate his gift, its just that I tend to easily get distracted by all of the new toys I constantly buy.  For today’s review we’re going to take a look at the Transformer named Nosecone.TF-Nosecone art

 

 

 

Nosecone was originally released in 1987.  He is a member of the Autobot sub-team, the Technobots. The 5 Technobots could merge to form the combiner Computron.  When it came to combiner teams either my brother Doug or I would collect the entire team.  I had the Constructicons and the Protectabots and Doug and the Combaticons and the Aerialbots.  Our interest in Transformers was already waning by ’87 so we didn’t make the concerted effort to collect full combiner sets that year like we had done in the past.  Doug called dibs on the Technobots but only ever owned 2 of them, Afterburner and Lightspeed.  My Combiner choice in ’87 was the Terrorcons who formed Abominus but I only ever acquired 1 of them, Rippersnapper.

TF-Npsecone arms

One of the main reasons we lost interest in Transformer toys was because of figures like the Technobots and the Terrorcons.  The transformations on those combiner figures were so rudimentary that they could hardly be said to transform at all.  It was basically flip this and pull that and presto!  Transformed.  In robot mode their legs were nothing but a solid block of plastic and their arms often didn’t have hands or elbows and were little more than little nubs protruding from their torso.  Hasbro got lazy and we took notice.

Nosecone here is a prime example of lazy toy making.  His vehicle mode is a drill tank. Obviously not an Earth vehicle.  The first few waves of Transformers all transformed into recognizable Earth vehicles and objects.  Transformers of the late 80s often weren’t bogged down by that requirement.  The reason being that Transformers introduced later in the series never travelled to Earth and never needed to disguise themselves amongst the native population thus they retained their Cybertronian vehicle modes.  Story wise it made sense and it allowed for a wider variety of vehicles, but instead of creativity we got laziness.  Many of the vehicles didn’t look like much of anything.  Like, what is Kup exactly?TF-Nosecone tank

Weird vehicle modes wouldn’t have bothered me that much if the robot modes had been half decent but it many cases the robot modes just plain sucked.  Such is the case with Nosecone.  To transform him from a drill tank to a robot you flip the drill back and his legs forward…that’s it.  His tank treads can be pointed forward to represent arms but there’s absolutely no sculpting detail to present them as arms let alone any articulation.  He has a pea-sized head because it has to work as a peg to attach him to the other Technobots. I understand the reasoning but it looks dumb.  Everything about this toy is uninspired.TF-Nosecone side

I will say that I actually kind of like Nosecone’s rustic color palette (brown is my favorite color) but it doesn’t quite match the other Technobots which results in a patchwork Computron.TF-Nosecone combiner

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As unimpressive as this figure is its presently the only vintage combiner component piece in my collection.  I had a bunch of them when I was a kid but got rid of them all ages ago.  This toy gains a few points with me for stirring memories of those long-lost Protectabots  and Terrorcons.  The toys may have sucked but that didn’t diminish the coolness of some of the characters they represented (First Aid of the Protecabots is one of my all-time favorite Transformers). The fact that Eric gifted this to me also gets Nosecone some goodwill bonus points.  All that said, I give him a 4 out of 10.

 

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on October 20, 2014, in Transformers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

