VISION (2015) POP!

POP-Vision fullFUNKO POP!: AVENGERS

When the first Avengers movie came out in 2012 I had an Avengers theme week where I reviewed a different Avengers toy every day for 7 days.  I reviewed toys of characters that appeared in the film, like Hawkeye and Iron Man, but I also reviewed a couple of Avengers who weren’t in the movie, like Wonder Man and the Vision.  Vision has been a long-standing member of the Avengers but he’s never really been an A-List character and he seemed like an unlikely candidate to ever appear in a big-budget Hollywood film.  But in less than 2 weeks Avengers 2 will be hitting theatres and it will feature none other than the Avengers resident android as part of the ensemble cast.  A couple of years ago I never would’ve guessed that we’d be seeing the Vision so soon in Marvel Studios’ shared cinematic universe but seeing as the Guardians of the Galaxy and Ant-Man both have their own movies now  I don’t think anything would surprise me.POP-Vision cape

I like the Vision but he’s never been a character I was ever really passionate about.  He always seemed a little boring to me but at least he looked cool.  He’s usually a yellow and green dude with a popped collar and a bright red face.  I have an action figure of him in his classic colors from Toy Biz’s animated Avengers line of the 90s.  It’s a pretty cool figure which I have yet to review (maybe after the movie comes out).   The figure I reviewed in 2012 for Avengers Week was a solid white figure which was based on Vision’s appearance in the 1989 story “Vision Quest”where he lost both his complexion and his personality.  This latest Vision figure that I picked up a couple of days ago showcases yet another color palette, this one based on his upcoming live-action appearance.

PPO-Vision sideI really like this new color scheme for Vision.  I find it looks more alien than it does super hero.  It gives him a creepy factor which I like.  He’s wearing a grey textured onesie and pink boots and gloves with some gold accents.  He also has a cape which is molded in a blend of translucent pink and gold plastic and features some nice microchip-like sculpted details.  The pink face is very evocative of his classic red face but the head gear is much more elaborate for the movie version.  The comic Vision appeared to have a skin tight hood on where as this Vision’s head gear looks much more cybernetic and functional.

I don’t know if this design will look as good on a 6″ Marvel Legends or 4″ Marvel Universe figure but I think it looks great on this vinyl figure from Funko.  I’m a big fan of their POP! figures and I have a small army of them adorning my desk at work.  I try to collect characters from a variety of properties for my POP! display.  I presently have DC comics characters, Masters of the Universe characters, and various movie and TV characters.  When I bought Vision and the Collector (Benico Del Toro’s character from Guardians of the Galaxy) the other day I didn’t realize that they were my first Marvel POP! figures.  Which is why I was rather surprised when I pulled them from their boxes and discovered they were bobble-heads.POP-Vision neck

None of my other POP! figurines are bobble-heads.  I was aware that for some reason certain POP! properties, such as Star Wars, were bobble-heads and I steered clear of them because  I don’t like bobble-heads.  All that bobbling gets on my nerves.  It never occurred to me that Vision might be a bobble-head when I purchased him because  I was thinking that I already owned at least one Marvel POP! figure but apparently I didn’t.  If I had the option to trade this figure in for a non-bobble version I most certainly would but that’s not an option and so I’m stuck with this wobbly annoyance.POP-Vision movie full

Vision is being played by Paul Bettany in the movie.  I’ve been a fan of Bettany’s ever since 2000’s Gangster No. 1.  He’s been the voice of Iron Man’s J.A.R.V.I.S. operating system in all 3 Iron Man movies and the first Avengers.  I wonder if there were always plans to turn Jarvis into the Vision or if it came about as an after thought.  Either way, I think it’s a great idea.  He’s one of the characters I’m most excited about seeing on the big screen this summer.

I wish I could attend a Thursday night showing on April 30 but I’m gonna be in Mexico for my buddy Miguel’s wedding that weekend.  So unless I’m willing to sit through a Spanish version I won’t get to see Avengers: Age of Ultron until 3 or 4 days after its release.  Don’t post any spoilers.  7 out of 10.

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on April 19, 2015, in Marvel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

