SAGA GORILLA/ GARRISON G

BS-Gorilla fullBEAST SAGA

Time sure does fly.  I can’t believe it was 2012 when Takara launched their Beast Saga toyline. It was an unofficial continuation of their 80s toyline, Battle Beasts, which was one of my favourite lines when I was a kid.  All of my other 80s favourites like G.I. Joe, Transformers, and He-Man were revived in the early 2000s and I was really hoping Battle Beasts would eventually come back as well.  It required another decade of waiting but the Beasts finally returned and I couldn’t have been happier.  Long time readers may recall how excited I was about receiving my first shipment of Beast Saga figures back in September 2012.  Additional waves of figures quickly followed and it seemed as though Beast Saga was off to a great start and would be around for years to come.  Sadly it ended just as quickly as it began.  The line only lasted about a year before it vanished.BS-Gorilla card

There was never any official announcement of the line’s demise (that I know of, I can’t read Japanese) so I have held out hope that more figures might eventually come.  At this point though that seems very unlikely.  I guess I’ll just have to enjoy the 39 figures I do have.

Saga Gorilla (or Garrison G as I think he’s officially called) was part of series 2.  Like all BS figures he came with a sword, a shield, a couple of dice, and a game card.  I never bothered to figure out how the gaming aspect of these figures work so the dice and card are useless to me.  Both his sword and shield are pretty basic solid grey accessories.BS-Gorilla back

 

The figure itself is pretty awesome.  He has a realistic looking Gorilla head (with some mechanical enhancements) atop a bulky body with large arms and squat legs.  The proportions actually work quite well here which wasn’t always the case with these figures.  Gorilla has sculpted fur on all of his exposed areas and his face has a life-like neutral expression.  The armour lacks much in the way of detail  but it looks good regardless.  It’s very blocky which adds to his husky appearance.  I really like the colour of his armour.  It’s a drab brown with olive green shoulder pads.  It looks very militaristic and not at all flashy. This is a no-nonsense monkey.

In my early Beast Saga reviews I assigned the characters allegiance to either Saga Lion (the good guys) or Saga Shark (the bad guys) and I gave them a back story.  Now that some time has passed and my excitement has cooled I totally forget which side of the battle I placed Saga Gorilla on.BS-Gorilla animated

My first thought would be to make him a villain based on his dark colours but he looks way too calm to be evil.  I can see him as a general for Saga Lion fighting the good fight and keeping a level head even in the most chaotic of situations.

I love these Beast Saga figures and I highly recommend anyone pick them up.  They’re getting harder to find so you should do it soon. 9 out of 10.

BS-Gorilla duoBS-Gorilla compare

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on January 11, 2016, in Battle Beasts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

