SPIDER-GWEN (2016)

MarvL-Gwen fullMARVEL LEGENDS

Last year there was a storyline that spanned many Spider-Man related comic books called “Spider-Verse”. The premise was that a group of vampire-like dudes called the Inheritors were traveling to various dimensions and sucking the life force out of each dimension’s version of Spider-Man. Once the “real” Spider-Man got wind of this he teamed up with all the other spider-pwered men and women from across the multi-verse to defeat the Inheritors. I didn’t think it was great, largely because the inheritors are rather bland villains, but there was a fair amount of fun to be mined from the premise. Spider-Verse featured appearances by every Spider-Man you can think of including the 60s animated Spider-Man, Star Comics’ Peter Porker: Spider-Ham, and the black & white newspaper strip Spider-Man. It also brought back all of the transformed and mutated versions of Spidey we’ve seen over the years such as Cosmic Spider-Man and Spider-Hulk. There was no shortage of Spider-Men to pick from and yet the writers and artists went ahead and created a bunch of new variations anyway like Spider-Punk and Lady-Spider. One of the new spider people was from an alternate reality where it was Peter Parker’s girlfriend, Gwen Stacy, that got bit by the radioactive spider instead of him. The result was Spider-Gwen. She didn’t actually call herself that in the comic because that would make her secret identity obsolete but that was the title of the book that introduced her. In Gwen’s world she goes by the name Spider-Woman (yes, another one).MarvL-Gwen back

 

Spider-Gwen’s costume design was really cool and quite different from any spider costume we’d seen before. She caught on with fans immediately and within weeks of her introduction you could find pictures of multiple Spider-Gwen cosplay outfits online. She was given a fairly large part to play in the Spider-Verse saga and as soon as it wrapped up Marvel gave Gwen her own on-going series. She’s also a member of the ensemble cast featured in the new team book Web Warriors which features a bunch of the other fan favorite spider heroes from Spider-Verse. It’s fair to say that Spider-Gwen is a bit of a phenomenon. I think she looks cool but I haven’t bothered to read her solo series. I picked up her introduction story and the first issue of her on-going but they failed to reel me in. At this point I feel I’ve read a few too many variations of a teenaged spider-hero coming of age. Even alternate reality versions of established Spidey villains used to be fun but now they feel played out. That said, I’m glad Spider-Gwen has found an audience and I’m sure it’s exciting for younger fans who haven’t seen these storylines a hundred times before.

MarvL-Gwen face

 

 

Spider-Gwen’s popularity is further evidenced by how quickly Hasbro produced an action figure of her. She was included in their latest Spider-Man themed wave of Marvel Legends which features an Absorbing Man build-a-figure. I’ve been eagerly anticipating this wave so I was pretty excited last week when my pal Dave over at Strange Adventures Comic Shop texted me to say they had them in stock and he was giving me the first crack at them. I said I wanted them all and he gave me a good deal which was awesome (you rule, Dave). That text saved me from hunting these figures down one-by-one all over the city and it enabled me to build a complete Absorbing Man. Dave also hooked me up with the final pieces I needed to complete my Rhino and Hulkbuster build-a-figures so my Marvel Legends shelf just got a whole lot more crowded.MarvL-Gwen art

I’m very pleased with how Spider-Gwen turned out. The body is the same one we’ve seen on fellow teenaged spider-powered females like Spider-Girl, Black Widow, and Arana. The eye-catching paint job distinguishes this figure from the others though. The stark contrast of black and white always looks good and the powder blue webs on the purple areas looks really sharp. The removable hood is sculpted very nicely and it sits proportionately on her shoulders.

As an added bonus Spider-Gwen has a couple of awesome accessories. She has an alternate unmasked head which is something I wish all figures included. Why don’t I have a Peter Parker or a Mayday head? My new clone Spider-Man figure would be so much cooler if it had an alternate Ben Reilly head. I hope the inclusion of Gwen’s unmasked head is a trend we see continued. I would’ve preferred a long haired John Romita style Gwen but the head provided is a pretty good representation of the Emma Stone Gwen which isn’t a bad substitute. Another neat little extra detail is that Gwen includes a downed hood that can be put around her neck with the unmasked head. Lastly, she came with Absorbing Man’s ball and chain which is a must-have for any respectable Absorbing Man figure. This Spider-Gwen is a home run which I’m sure will please her legions of new fans. 9 out of 10.MarvL-Gwen group

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on April 13, 2016, in Marvel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

