RINGNECK GORGON (2016)

BFS-Ring fullVITRUVIAN H.A.C.K.S.

In my last post I reviewed the Undead Warrior from the Eternal Struggle 2-pack. An exclusive set of figures produced by Boss Fight Studios for 2016 Convention appearances. In this post I’ll be taking a look at the other figure from the set, the Ringneck Gorgon. The packaging describes her as follows:

The Ringneck Gorgons were quiet and smart. Their tactical knowledge and efficiency were their most deadly asset, assessing the situation and deciding how best to win a fight within seconds. Their decicions were deadly and final, usually leaving an enemy eviscerated or worse.BFS-Ring back

Sounds pretty bad ass.

Regular readers of this blog know I love G.I. Joe, Transformers, Marvel Super Heroes, and Star Wars; all brands that I grew up watching on TV and reading in comic books. Boss Fight Studio’s (BFS) Vitruvian Hack’s toyline is an original concept with no media tie-ins so you might be wondering why I’m so excited about them. The simple answer is Clash of the Titans. And no, I’m not talking about the Sam Worthington movie from 2010 (though I like that one too). I’m talking about the 1981 film starring Harry Hamlin as the demigod son of Zeus. I first saw it when I was really young (I would’ve been 3 when it came out) and I was absolutely captivated by it. All of the mythological creatures were animated in stop-motion by the legendary Ray Harryhausen. In the climax of the movie (spoiler alert!) the Kraken emerges from the deep to accept Andromeda as a human sacrifice only to be thwarted at the last minute by Perseus and his Pegasus. As corny as it may look by today’s standards, that Kraken was the coolest thing I’d ever seen at the time. I desperately wanted the Kraken toy produced by Mattel in the 80s (still do) but the only Clash of the Titans figure I owned was Charon, the boat keeper on the River Styx.

Mattel's Kraken

Mattel’s Kraken

The second coolest creature featured in the movie, which did not got an action figure which is a real shame, was Medusa, the snake-haired Gorgon who could turn men to stone with a single glance. Medusa freaked me out when I was a kid. I still think the stop-motion version is way creepier than the 2010 version, partly because she was so ugly whereas the updated CG Medusa was designed to be attractive.

I also love the movie “300″as much as the next guy but when BFS launched their Vitruvian Hacks Kickstarter campaign it wasn’t the Spartan Warriors that drew me in, it was the Gorgons.BFS-Ring helmet

The main Gorgon figure in the Hacks line is of course Medusa and from the images I’ve seen online she looks great, but I still have a while to wait before I’ll have her in my hands. As the Kickstarter raised more and more funds BFS added more and more figures to the launch including Gorgon soldiers in a variety of colors. I was most looking forward to the all black one, Black Racer. This purple Gorgon, the Ringneck, wasn’t part of the Kickstarter. She wasn’t revealed until a couple of months ago when BFS announced they’d be selling the Eternal Struggle 2-pack at Conventions this summer. It’s hard to say, since I don’t have the other color variations in hand yet, but I think the Ringneck may be my favorite Gorgon of the bunch. The green and the orange ones look a little too bright and the black one is maybe a little too dark. The Ringneck is a happy medium. The shade of purple selected is really nice and the orange used on the underside compliments it well making for a vibrant and visually appealing toy.BFS-Ring face

I can’t say enough good things about the sculpting on this figure. The gang over at Boss Fight are true artists because this thing is beautiful. There are teeny scales all over the body and the face is great. Those big soulless yellow eyes would put the fear into any Spartan I’m sure.

The design of this figure also needs to be praised. The Undead Warrior is the perfect action figure representation of a human in this scale but the Gorgons take it to a whole other level. The twisty snake tail looks and feels really cool. It’s constructed using individual segments, sort of like the tails seen on Godzilla and Otachi. It has a cool rubbery skin and can be posed all kinds of ways.  Most impressively, it allows the character to stand upright which is awesome. This is leaps and bounds beyond the rubber tail Hasbro gave us on Golobulus back in ’87.BFS-Ring Golobulus

For accessories The Ringneck has removable chest armor, a spear, a sword, a very cool shield with an intricate crest, and a totally awesome helmet made out of the skull and spine of some poor creature.  At a glance you could say the accessories are all just grey but upon closer inspection you’ll see they’re all different. The shield and sword look they could be made of stone, the armour is metallic, and the helmet looks like bone.  It’s all very impressive.

This figure is truly boss. 10 out of 10.BFS-Ring groupBFS-Ring statue

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on May 2, 2016, in Vitruvian Hacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Can’t wait to check these out in person. They look really nice !

Leave a Reply

