KNIGHTMARE BATMAN (2016)

POP-Batman Knightmare fullFUNKO POP!

I try to stick to toy reviews on this site but every now and again I’ll sneak a movie review in disguised as a toy review. I don’t think I ever shared my thoughts on 2013’s Man of Steel so allow me to now… Hated it.

I love me some Superman and I was excited to see it initially but what a boring piece of crap that was. I could go on and on about the things I didn’t like about it (it was grim, it was long, Superman let his dad die, Ma and Pa Kent were kinda dicks, Superman killed Zod and destroyed a city in the process, Amy Adams sucked, etc. etc.) but I won’t bother.

When it was announced that a sequel was being made called “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice” I was concerned for many reasons (they were trying to build a shared universe on a super weak foundation, they were adapting a comic about Superman and Batman’s final meeting into a movie about their first meeting thus diminishing the conflict and starting the DC cinematic universe off with an aged Batman, they were planning on cramming in multiple {thus underdeveloped} characters, etc. etc.) and yet I went and saw it anyway like a chump.POP-Batman Knightmare back

I enjoyed BvS more than Man of Steel but just barely. I still thought it was riddled with problems but it wasn’t a pile of  garbage like MOS was. As I feared, BvS was too long and too dark. They introduced too many characters in an effort to rush the Justice League together and it felt forced, character motivations were largely absent, Doomsday was completely generic, and {SPOILER ALERT} they tagged the Death of Superman storyline onto the end and it didn’t have nearly the impact it should have because in the DC cinematic universe most of the world thinks Superman is a jerk. Plus there was the killing of Jimmy Olsen, the overly goofy Lex Luthor, Batman killing everybody, etc. etc.

I really hope DC get’s its s**t together before the Justice League movies come out but I’m not optimistic.  The first teaser trailer was released this weekend and it did nothing to make me think things are heading in the right direction.

POP-Batman Knightmare side

 

Even though I didn’t love the movie I do love this figure based on it. This “Knightmare” version of Batman appeared in a dream sequence that foreshadowed the coming of Darkseid. It was one of the most out of place scenes in the movie that I’m sure left casual movie goers completely confused. Even I, a seasoned comic nerd, was left scratching my head. I’m not interested in collecting any of the DC Direct/Mattel figures from this dour movie but I couldn’t resist picking up this adorable little version of Batman in his trenchcoat and goggles from Funko.

I seem to have started a sub-collection of Batmen figures within my larger POP! collection. This is now the fourth Batman I’ve acquired and I’m still hoping to pick up the BvS armoured version as well.  As much as I love the trench coat, the neckerchief, the goggles, and the dirt spatter, it’s the 5 o’clock shadow that really won me over. Who doesn’t love a stubbly Batman. I’m quite certain that this figure is the best thing to come out of Batman v Superman. I would score the movie a 5 (Man of Steel gets a 2) but this figure gets an 8 out of 10.POP-Batman Knightmare Batmen

About mike's collection

I'm a dude that collects toys and writes. I figured I'd combine my hobbies.

Posted on July 25, 2016, in DC and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Your issues with “Man of Steel” and “Superman Vs. Batman” can best be summed up as: they were (both) directed by Zack Snyder. The man who said that if he had directed “Batman Begins,” he would’ve had Bruce Wayne get raped in the Chinese prison.

    That’s the man (who was) in charge of DC’s cinematic universe.

    He’s also said that what he liked so much about “the Watchmen” was the fact that it was a comic with sex and blood in it. Two factors I don’t believe TIME magazine mentioned when they listed it as one of the Top 100 Novels of the 20th Century. The quote does explain all the up-the-skirt shots of Wonder Woman in “BvS” though.

    Luckily DC added Ben Affleck as Co-Producer to all the subsequent DC films to rein in Snyder and his penchent for ruining films.

Leave a Reply

